[SOLVED] i7-4790k reaching 100 degrees after GTX 1080 install

Mar 4, 2022
Computer Specs:

i7-4790k @ 4.00 GHz (Turbo Enabled)
CPU Cooled by a H80iGT Corsair Water Cooler
GTX 1080 FE
32 GB DDR3 of G.Skill Ram @ 2400 MHz
Corsair CX 750 Power Supply

I have been using the i7-4790k since December of 2015. I have never overclocked it once (just have had the Turbo Boost option enabled). I recently upgraded my GPU from an AMD HD 6700 series to a GTX 1080. When I made this upgrade, I thought it would be a good time to overclock the 4790k a bit especially since I do have a water cooler. I decided to try overclocked to 4.6 GHz with the voltage set at 1.260. This is where I ran into issues.

I was able to play BF4 on Ultra at a constant 200 FPS which was exciting however, when I closed out of the program and launched Warzone, the computer instantly crashed and gave me a bluescreen. I also stress tested the CPU prior to launching BF4 to make sure the OC was stable, and it was as the CPU maintained 80 degrees at full load. The computer then restarted however this time it didn't even allow me to login to windows as it again crashed giving me a blue screen. So, I went back into the bios and removed the OC settings. I was able to re-login to windows however, after stress testing it again the CPU managed to reach temps of 90+ eventually getting up to the 100 mark and then crashing.