I7 5960x power consumption gaming? What to expect under loads?

Apr 6, 2018
Okay so im fairly new to pcs and this group but the community has treated me well so far. My pc runs optimally as of right not but im worried about my psu considering my cpu. What the heck is the high end power consumption on this thing? I dont do vr or anything just average fps gaming.

My specs are as listed
I7 5960x

H100i v2

X16 16gbs 2400 ddr4

Msi x99a gaming 7

Msi gtx 1060 gaming x 6gb

2 ssds

3 120mm fans.

Corsair cx650m psu. 650 watts 80% bronze.

Do i have room? Or am i pushing it. Help would be greatly appreciated and as my knowledge increasing ill return the help back to the community.

Apr 6, 2018
So I should be good for right now? Whats a good recommended psu? Im not pushing it to hard rn am I? Claims 85% efficiency. I wont be going near max load im sure. Highest ive seen is like 26% on corsair software.

If you are gaming you probably aren't using your CPU 100%.

Are you saying 26% CPU usage that you see?

You should be fine for just gaming. But if you like to stress test your system with max CPU and GPU load often, I'd recommend an upgrade on your PSU.

Corsair RMx
EVGA G2, G3
SeaSonic FOCUS Plus or PRIME Gold

650W is enough especially if it's a really good unit like those I mentioned, but it wouldn't hurt to go higher to 750W just for future upgrade possibilities.

I mean you could still run a GTX 1080 Ti with a 650W good quality unit, but with your CPUs capability at 100% load I'd want a 750W for good measure.

Apr 6, 2018
Okay awesome man! Thanks for the help. Just to get things clear im in the safe zone for right now with not exceeding insane cpu loads just like gaming and keeping it below 50% usage? I just dont wanna risk frying anything. Like i said i havent had any issues so far.