[SOLVED] i7 8700k stuttering in games

Erik91

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2014
Hey guys.

I've been having this problem with my CPU.
When I'm playing Overwatch for a few hours, the CPU starts to get hot at some point, by hot I mean occasional spikes at 70C. Which I don't think it's an alarming temperature for this model.
But when it's temperature spikes and hits 70C, the game just freezes for a moment, sometimes even for a few seconds (FPS goes to 0, then goes back to normal).
I'm no expert but I don't think that's a normal behaviour for a CPU like this.
What could be going on? Is some kind of threshold kicking in?

I use Afterburner to monitor my temps.
Just one more thing that I've noticed since I've built the computer, is that my CPU temps spikes like crazy on games or at idle.
The readings of the temps are not "stable", they always change like crazy, like 44 56 48 62 55 50 60 45 and so on.
So maybe my coolers go a little crazy over those readings because they always changing drastically.

-The cooler is a Noctua d15.
-My motherboard is a Asus z370-E Gaming.
-The CPU is not overclocked.
-Room temperature was around 26-28C (I live in a hot country).

Thanks in advance!

Solution
Chrome can also be a resource hog. Keep an eye on it when ya get the chance.

Easiest way to find out when system is feeling sluggish is open task manager processes tab and assort cpu highest to lowest usages so those using the most are brought to top. Do the same for memory. To assort, click the column header.

Erik91

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2014
@13thmonkey

Thanks for the fast reply.

Not that I'm aware of.

It's the usual stuff running on background.
Stuff like Steam, Spotify, Blizzard App, Anti-virus etc...
Nothing that could cause an abnormal spike.

Erik91

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2014

My PC Case is a NZXT Noctis 450.
I have a total of 4 be quiet BL071 140mm fans: 2 front intake, 1 rear exhaust, 1 top exhaust.
My CPU Fan Profile is set on PWM, being at 100% on 63C.