Installed new GPU, now my computer won't boot?

cybervegeto22

Honorable
May 19, 2016
-- UPDATE --
After realizing those numbers on the mobo weren't temperature, but error codes, I looked up the codes online and discovered a way to fix the issue.

I just had to take out all my RAM, and plug 1 stick it into the first slot. Then I booted and everything worked fine, and I was able to shut down and reinstall the other stick as well.

So far so good, running on the new 1060.

Hey all,

I have been running an EVGA GTX 960 since 2016. Aside from an initial defective MSI mobo, my system runs smoothly.
Just today, I bought an EVGA GTX 1060. I unplugged my PC, took out the 960, and put in the 1060. I plugged my PC back in and turned it on, but while the case fans and lights came on, the keyboard/mouse didn't, and I had no video signal from the new card. I switched my HDMI cable over to the onboard HDMI, and still no signal.

After a couple of resets, my computer booted. I went to device manager to update my drivers, and after roughly 10 minutes of downloading, it said "Installing drivers." Maybe 2 minutes later, it gave me a BSOD with the stop code IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. It was "gathering information" pretty quickly, but froze at 55%.
vo0m6b.jpg

I had to manually restart multiple times. Eventually I swapped the power cable from the PSU to the 1060, and it finally booted like normal. I attempted to update drivers again, but it told me they were already installed.

I continued using the PC for a while, ran Superposition to bench the new GPU (scored 2421 if that matters), surfed around the web, and after a few hours, turned it off.

Not long after that, I turned it back on. It didn't work. My keyboard and mouse didn't light up, although the case did. The monitor was on a black screen in standby mode. So, I shut the system down and killed the power, pulled the 1060, and put my old 960 in. It booted to the MSI loading screen, and froze.
j956xg.jpg