installing linux on HP uefi system

bartNL

Honorable
Dec 12, 2013
Hi fella's

How do i properly install Linux Mint (16 or 17) on my pc with uefi?
There's obviously a lot of tutorials, but all of them miss or skip one or more steps/choices/concepts.
I'm the inlucky one who has an HP(!), laptop, with Win8.1, thus uefi and GPT.
The combination you'd like to avoid..
Those things make installing Linux a little harder.
Since i'm new to this and i don't have any experience with Linux, i can certainly use some help.
I doubt if i'm even gonna succeed without it.

So here's what i'd like to know:
How should i take account of all these concepts so i can install Linux properly?
If i just follow the installation and leave (almost)all the options on default,
i get the error "grub-efi-amd64-signed package failed to install into /target/".(i tried it several times, and checksums are OK)
I looked it up and for the ubuntu-version of my problem,
the solutions was changing the name of the file in question,
because there's a bug that causes it to be incorrectly burned to CD/USB.
It resulted in adding '64'to the file's name.
However this was not the solution in my case. Or, there's another file which is faulty burned.

I can imagine there are a lot more of points where it could have gone wrong.
For instance, the option for the location of the bootloader.
I'm using my internal SSD for windows system, and i'm using my ext.hdd for windows files, and linux.
Now the install-wizard chooses my ssd(dev/Ssda) as the target for the bootloader, but maybe i should choose my ext.hdd?
Or create a /boot partition and use that as the target? Or the Windows efi partition? I don't know.
Secureboot, and fastboot are disabled, uefi is enabled but this shouldn't be a problem.
Maybe i could fix things with a boot-repair program, but i don't know it this is the only thing which goes wrong, the installation aborts after this message so i assume i miss many more things.