Intel NUC i5-8259U as Home Computer Replacement

ScottNY

Commendable
Nov 19, 2016
I am considering building an Intel BOXNUC8i5BEH1 Bean Canyon or similar NUC to use in place of my large, aging desktop system. Space is at a premium and the latest NUCs seem like excellent values while being small and easily portable. I think I could take my "completed" NUC build, connect it to someone else's monitor and peripherals and feel as if I am on my home computer.

The NUC with the i5-8259U processor seems like a great platform and a good value. I want the version where I can add my own memory, drives, etc. I am not a gamer. The most taxing thing I do with my computer is to occasionally burn my CDs to FLAC so I can play them in the car or have several browser windows open while on Outlook.

I am a novice. Am I missing something about the NUCs? Am I right thinking that they can they be used in place of desktop systems with the correct added hardware?

Any advice would be much appreciated, especially on what components to add [memory, SSD, NVMe, etc.] and how I would add external drives and other peripherals.

Thanks!

P.S. I should also add that I have a retail Win 10 Pro license so that is an expense I wouldn't have.

asoroka

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2009
The NUC is a nice small form factor and does pack a powerful punch. It is more than enough for your usage.

The biggest drawback is the lack of expansion and graphics.
You will find that you will need an external DVD as you can't have an internal drive.

You are restricted to just one m2 and one 2.5" hdd.

You are probably better off looking at a laptop.

ScottNY

Commendable
Nov 19, 2016