Intel Outs Cherry Trail Atom x5 And x7 SoCs; Entry-Level SoFIA Chips, Too

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using an Acer Switch 10 for a few months and have been generally pleased with it. Would love to see what kind of 2-in-1 these chips will be found in. A 10" Win8/10 2-in-1 with built-in LTE for under $400 would make me consider an upgrade.

hannibal

Distinguished
Most interesting processors to new Wintel tablets! Increased GPU speed is promising for light gaming with windows tablets and 14nm process should provide even better battery usage.
Just hope to see one of these in good 9 to 10 " tablet with reasonable resolution IPS screen. 1080p minimum.

rluker5

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2014
wintel probably won't but they could do the whole windows pc on a phone thing with one of these if they put a micro hdmi port on it. the keyboard/mouse/gamepad would be Bluetooth. I've got that on a lesser baytrail and it's a better htpc than an average vista desktop. it would be nice for boring slideshows over the holidays

epobirs

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2011
hixbot , March 2, 2015 11:57 AM
It may be finally time to break my Cherry Trail.
-----------

A double! Most impressive, sir.

aldaia

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2010
Unfortunately for Intel, the mobile market doesn't care about x86, no matter how great their processors are. Those processors may take a share in the tablet market, but tablets are as saturated as desktops, it's not anymore a growing market. A lot of people are replacing their old tablet + their old smartphone by a newer phablet. The growth potential and the high volume is still in the smartphone camp, where the big names are Apple, Samsung, Qualcomm and Mediatek

MyDocuments

Reputable
Jun 21, 2014
Hmm, it remains to be seen how seriously an x86 Android Phone can be taken, given that there are still application incompatibility issues despite the marketing given by Intel in order to allay these fears.