Question Intermitent BSOD

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I am normally here somewhere but I am half way through a course right now and half the week is spent doing that so I can't be here to answer everything (as much as I normally would). I asked others to look in here and so far PC has jumped in as well. We should have an answer to this before my course ends in 2 weeks :)

memtest used to be 8 tests as the free version had no limits. Its only in the last year that it stops you at 4. Running it twice is not hard to do manually.
 

Iron_Lion

Reputable
Dec 7, 2015
90
2
4,535
0
I just greatful for the help, yake your time.

Yeah but do i have to run the second 4pass's right after the first 4 or is it a case of a long as i do 8 in total in doesnt matter how much time passes between the first and last 4?
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
i cannot find conclusive evidence suggesting one way or other is better. Running 8 is just a way to be more sure... though tests aren't perfect, i seen memtest pass ram, and person still goes and replaces ram and errors stop.
 
Reactions: PC Tailor

gardenman

Admirable
Herald
The free version of memtest use to allow 8 passes. They changed it and it now only allows 4 passes. That's one reason you'll see many people recommend 8 passes in older posts (including myself). The real question is, is 4 passes enough to really test the RAM? My guess is that it is probably sufficient. If you feel like spending more time on it, run it twice for a total of 8 (wait time in between shouldn't matter).
 
Reactions: PC Tailor

Iron_Lion

Reputable
Dec 7, 2015
90
2
4,535
0
Ok thanks, im still working on those tests, but i put what im pretty sure are full dump files in the same one drive location as the others, hope that its right.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Ok i found the full dump file bit its 30+gb, one drive only gives me 5gb so i how do i get it to you all?
this is why i normally ask for minidumps. I know PC asked for big although I am not sure what site would allow upload of 30gb without paying something. I have 1tb of storage with Onedrive as I have an Office 365 subscription

Is that its size in a zip file?
Google Drive allows uploads of 15gb before you run out,m can buy more space (I have 100gb with them)
you could try number 2 here only as they have a free 7 day trial with 100gb max - https://www.techradar.com/best/best-ways-to-share-big-files

I wonder if @axe0axe0 might have a look
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Do you own the games as the isdone.dll error often occurs with pirated games. I can't help you with those. I assume win 10 is not cracked?

I hope PC tailor is going to get a use out of your dump file as 30gb is too large for Gardenman to even attempt at his speed... try about 3 days.
 

Iron_Lion

Reputable
Dec 7, 2015
90
2
4,535
0
They are old games given to me by a freind years ago, they worked before i rebuilt my PC, now they dont, tried 3 of them and got the same error on all of them. When i searched online a lot of ppl seem to think its because of bad RAM.

Windows is legit. I had to rebuy it when i built the PC

I hope to have the dump file up by the weekend.

Cheked my SSD with the tool you sujested and its fine.
 

Iron_Lion

Reputable
Dec 7, 2015
90
2
4,535
0
Ignore the isdone.dll thing, i figured it out, doesnt like being decompressed from my nas. So still no closer to figuring out whats causing the BSOD, it hasnt happend in a few days so its due any min now. This is frustrating and getting me down.....
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Now I will likely jinx us just by saying this (it always happens) but maybe the errors just stopped themselves? I don't like chances.

I know how it is waiting for an error, 5 months last year I had a problem we couldn't figure out and it would only happen when it wanted to, I didn't know what caused it and only in hindsight do I know what cause was, but not why. That doesn't help here but explains that I know how you feel.
 

Iron_Lion

Reputable
Dec 7, 2015
90
2
4,535
0
I would sell organs for that to be the case, not my own but still.....

Im 30, i started training to build PCs when i was 14, im pretty pissed that in all that time we still havent got a way to find out what part is faulty etc.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
i need to collect thoughts. Just read through what we done already as it gets hard after 3 pages.

Have you checked the HDD that is now in NAS that was causing the black screens? not just chkdsk, if its one of the below hdd makers, run their test -
Samsung - https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/product/consumer/magician/

WD - https://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?p=3&lang=en

Seagate - https://www.seagate.com/au/en/support/downloads/seatools/seatools-win-master/

I know I have given you those already. Testing hardware is likely only way, it would be incredibly unlucky to get same drivers on 3 different installs (though not unheard of)

did we ever go back to basics and just run PC with bare minimum parts to see if we can reduce number of possible problems? or will the custom loop cooling just make that a pain.

As you could run without GPU, Soundcard and NAS and see if you get the bsod. If you do, you know its none of the items you have removed.
 

Iron_Lion

Reputable
Dec 7, 2015
90
2
4,535
0
OK The NAS isnt directly conected to the pc, only over network. But i havent tested it.

The custom loop makes that a giant nightmare, the GPU,CPU and motherboard all have water blocks.

Strange thing is its still hasnt BSOD since the last time, alhtough today windows spazed out and i could move the mouse but there was no desktop backround or windows explorer, task bar etc Couldnt even get task manger to run rexploer. Had to hard reset. But it didnt frezze or BSOD.
 

Iron_Lion

Reputable
Dec 7, 2015
90
2
4,535
0
Ok so i got another BSOD, WHEA again. Im uploading the dump file right with that 7 day free trial thing now and ill post the link when its done, ill run the adata ssd test as soon as its done uploading. If we still have no idea after all that ill change the sound card in a week or so. After that i dont know what to do............
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
can you give me the minidump for the last error?

I am not certain when PC Tailor will be back to read your massive dump, Gardenman took one look at file size and said pass. If neither of them can do it I might have to work out how to convert them myself. the file size is less an issue for me.
 

Iron_Lion

Reputable
Dec 7, 2015
90
2
4,535
0
i understand its big, i wouldnt have even put it up if i wasnt asked to, its more hassle than i expect ppl to put up with.

Latest mini dump is in the one drive the others are in. Last 2 days instead BSOD once a day max some times not for days its done 3-4 times a day. I am doing nothign different either.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
its going to be quiet around here this week, and elsewhere I suspect. If it was a normal month I would suggest you try making a post on here after reading the sticky post. One of the people who helps there also helps here, I tried to get his attention a week or so ago here but he may not have seen it.

I am not giving up but new outside eyes might see what I have missed, or at very least can read the dumps and see what they show.

You could refer to this post in new one, so they don't get you to repeat things I have already asked of you.

I have sent a message to PC Tailor as he might have missed your reply, he tends to answer a lot of questions and its easy to miss notifications. Id he hasn't replied in a few days I have said to gardenman that I will get him to show me how to convert the dumps myself... sort of makes sense I know that :)
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY