Internet being capped at 130mbps by something

Jake_134

Reputable
Apr 10, 2017
I am losing the will to live.

I updated my internet speed with Virgin from Vivid 100 to Vivid 200. They said I could get on average 212mbps.

My laptop was struggling to get over 130mbps after the update (I got 110mbps before I upgraded) so I decided to reset it after the Virgin man had been and fixed a wiring issue.

Anyway, I reset the computer and bam, 220mbps. However my joy was short lived as after I restarted my computer, the speed went back down to 130mbps.

I did a few things after googling and it only went back up after resetting the computer again.

On Saturday (just been) I figured it may be bullguard so decided to reset and not install. All was good but once again short lived. Today (Monday) in the morning everything was fine (220mbps) but about 2 hours ago I spotted that the speed had capped at 130mbps again.

I am getting fed up with this and need some expert advice. I am not very good at computers (only self taught) and have tried resetting and uninstalling various programmes that appeared today with no luck.

Just to advise, this has all been done on WiFI so please do not say connect to ethernet as I can get 220mbps on the wifi alone.

Hardware can accept 1gbps according to the status (when virgin had a go at fixing) so the device shouldn't be a problem.

The router is a Virgin V6 box but they are 100% happy the box is not the problem.

To be fair my GF iphone is getting 220mbps constantly so the final conclusion that I could find is that it IS the laptop and it IS something that installs itself after i reset.

Could it be asus live update?

The list of apps downloading when I reset the laptop. I have since done this again and the speed is being capped AGAIN at 130mbps!!! I haven't installed anything and the only thing I know for sure updated is Live update.

Asus Live Update
Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Redistributable (x64) - 11.0.61030
Intel Graphics Driver