Internet connection registered but no data transfer

Chalky231

Reputable
Mar 18, 2015
7
0
4,510
0
Hey guys,

I'm looking for some advice/assistance regarding a problem i'm having with a custom built machine given to me by a friend.
The problem i'm having, and he's never had, is that when I got it home and connected it to my virgin super hub via ethernet, it's registered being connected to the internet and my homegroup. The problem i'm having is that although connected to the internet their is a bare minimum data transfer. We're talking 800 bytes a second, tops.

I'm not sure where you guys would like me to start information wise, but if you let me know, i'll happily share.

Thanks!

- Quick heads up. The WIFI data works fine and my laptop works well with the same ethernet cable.
- Checked all connections, everything seems fit and snug.
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
Chalky,

Quite a bottleneck....

I trust that "checked all connections" included opening the case and reseating the ethernet card. Not uncommon for components to jiggle a bit loose when being moved and/or loosen a bit more once in place, warmed up and in use.

When you say the "WIFI data works fine" that means other devices (wired and wireless) have no problems with internet related data transfers. Correct?

That all said - have you tried reinstalling the driver for the custom machine's ethernet card?

Take care,

Ralston18

 

Chalky231

Reputable
Mar 18, 2015
7
0
4,510
0
Hey Ralston,
It did indeed mean I checked all wires and connections were firmly in place inside the case.
I also did mean other devices worked fine over the network, including my laptop which used the same set up as the PC is now.
And finally, I did try reformatting then reinstalling the driver for the ethernet.
I've also tried to reset the IP, bridge the connection to my laptop and a host of other things.

As you say, a bottleneck!
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
Chalky,

My apologies: I read "through the laptop" with respect to the image above and not the .png link below.....

Figure that you did not see anything of interest in the PRTG logs/reports.

Do you have any other PCI-e NIC's available? Appears that you would be comfortable being able to swap out the card and loading the appropriate drivers.

You could even use a USB wireless adapter - objective being to find some way that the custome machine will achieve the expected data transfer rates. Hopefully eliminating posible software/configuration issues.

That is all I have for the moment. Hoping that someone else will be able to jump in with additional suggestions.

Please let me know. Thanks.

Take care,

Ralston18



 

Chalky231

Reputable
Mar 18, 2015
7
0
4,510
0
Nothing to apologise for my friend. I realised after how it was phrased.

Nothing other than the actual data transfer rate, which was funny as it did spike at 300kb at one instant, then it was below 10kbs.

I've just bought a Netgear A1200 Wireless adapter. Same problem persists. So I think it's narrowed down to the computers actual connection to the router maybe? Or something blocking the connection on the pc. I don't believe it to be a virus or anything like that as it's been freshly formatted and nothings shown up from the scans i've run.

I feel sad... hahaha
 

Chalky231

Reputable
Mar 18, 2015
7
0
4,510
0
---System Information---

Host Name: MATTY-PC
OS Name: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
OS Version: 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
OS Manufacturer: Microsoft Corporation
OS Configuration: Standalone Workstation
OS Build Type: Multiprocessor Free
Registered Owner: Matty
Registered Organization:
Product ID: 00359-112-1507341-85739
Original Install Date: 19/03/2015, 14:56:58
System Boot Time: 20/03/2015, 16:37:30
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: EX58-UD5
System Type: x64-based PC
Processor(s): 1 Processor(s) Installed.
[01]: Intel64 Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5 GenuineIntel ~2660 Mhz
BIOS Version: Award Software International, Inc. F7, 11/05/2009
Windows Directory: C:\Windows
System Directory: C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device: \Device\HarddiskVolume1
System Locale: en-gb;English (United Kingdom)
Input Locale: en-gb;English (United Kingdom)
Time Zone: (UTC) Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, London
Total Physical Memory: 16,384 MB
Available Physical Memory: 14,768 MB
Virtual Memory: Max Size: 32,766 MB
Virtual Memory: Available: 31,057 MB
Virtual Memory: In Use: 1,709 MB
Page File Location(s): C:\pagefile.sys
Domain: WORKGROUP
Logon Server: \\MATTY-PC
Hotfix(s): 2 Hotfix(s) Installed.
[01]: KB2534111
[02]: KB976902
Network Card(s): 3 NIC(s) Installed.
[01]: Realtek RTL8168D/8111D Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20)
Connection Name: Local Area Connection
Status: Media disconnected
[02]: Realtek RTL8168D/8111D Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20)
Connection Name: Local Area Connection 2
Status: Media disconnected
[03]: NETGEAR A6210 WiFi USB3.0 Adapter
Connection Name: Wireless Network Connection
DHCP Enabled: Yes
DHCP Server: 192.168.0.1
IP address(es)
[01]: 192.168.0.8
[02]: fe80::d8c0:85eb:6f7c:94e7
---System Network Information---

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Matty-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR A6210 WiFi USB3.0 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-FF-D4-B2-F3-21
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d8c0:85eb:6f7c:94e7%16(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.8(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 20 March 2015 16:38:02
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 21 March 2015 16:39:32
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 398524372
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1C-9C-9A-EC-00-24-1D-7F-D8-00
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168D/8111D Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20) #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-1D-7F-D8-10
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168D/8111D Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-1D-7F-D8-00
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{34177564-A011-4CA4-A882-6CDFD1438A45}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:24d4:332c:ae92:dda7(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::24d4:332c:ae92:dda7%15(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


---Software information---
Utility: 1.0.0.25 / Driver: 5.1.15.1003


---Connection information---
SSID Mac Address Channel
VM652969-2G c4:04:15:e4:5e:70 11



I'm not sure if any of that helps. (I'm not sure if anything to personals on there. Nothing to find either way)

I think i've establushed that it's the connection leaving or returning to the pc thats the problem. Everything works fine on the rest of the network. So the question is, how do I establish how or why the connections having problems with the pc itself.
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
Chalky,

Per the System Information you provided (nice machine by the way):

The router's address is 192.168.0.1 which fits a NetGear router (and D-Link also I think). I expect that you have a NetGear router since you purchased a NetGear USB Wireless adapter.
Which model router do you have? Or make and model if not NetGear.

I see 3 physical NICs including the NetGear wireless adapter although labeled "A6210" versus "A1200". Also lots of configuration details that can be somewhat confusing.
IPv6 adds in another layer for mischief.

Sidebar/FYI: What happens when you run IPv6 speed tests from various computers: e.g.: http://ipv6-test.com/speedtest/
(There are other such sites by the way.) Just do not reveal your actual IP address(es).

In my mind that leaves plenty of room for a software/configuration conflict somewhere even if the ethernet cable is unplugged. Whatever else is in use is conflicted and choking. I.e., your bottleneck.

Try removing the PCI-e ethernet card (two ports - correct?) and the Netgear wireless adapter.

Disable all three in Device Manager.

If your motherboard has a integrated NIC port check that it is enabled (may require BIOS access) and try a wired connection to the router.
If no integrated NIC port then I would install only the USB wireless adapter and work just with it.

Basically, the objective is to simplify everything "network" and get at least one device working at the expected data transfer rates.

Also, are you familiar with the ipconfig command? You can dig out more information using that command as well. In fact I would go that route first just to see what else can be learned. Lots going on with that setup.

Let me know what you think and find.

Take care,

Ralston18









 

Chalky231

Reputable
Mar 18, 2015
7
0
4,510
0
Ralston, it's fixed. I don't know how, or why or what it is that's been done, but it's working. Perfectly. Thank you for coming on to help me!
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
Great.

Quick suggestion:

Run another "System Information/ Windows IP Configuration" scan (via ipconfig or whatever tool(s) were involved) and compare the March 20th output to what is now successfully working. See what, if any changes occurred. May save you some time and grief if the problem reoccurs. May help restore things again if you have some baseline configurations to look at.

Take care,

Ralston18
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS