[SOLVED] Is 430W enough to power my whole build?

XxLiveLivelyxX

Commendable
Jul 26, 2020
Hi, I am a noob.
That said, my power supply died a few weeks ago and with my current build (and what was available in-store), Thermaltake tr2 430w was fine and that's what I ended up with...
Now here I am considering a quadro 6000 which uses 200w on its own.

Is Thermaltake tr2 430w too low?

Specs are:

1x 60mm (Guessing) fan for
1x intel pentium G3240
1x fan 120mm (I guess)
1x h97m-e/csm motherboard
2x ddr3 4GB Memory
1x dvd rw drive
1x hardrive
1x external HD
1x Gigabit GeForce GT 730

and I use Unity to create games too if that makes any difference. It seems to draw lots of power according to the task manager.

Thank you for your time!
Any more information needed id be happy to offer it.

Ps. I have this other question if anyone has the answer :)

Last edited:
Solution
That's the same as this power supply, and it was pure trash when it was new. Even if you DON'T get a different graphics card, you would be VERY wise to figure out a way to replace it with something better. It's a VERY old model, a very old platform and even new, which yours is assuredly not, it couldn't supply it's rated 430w and could only do more like 350w sustained, which is pretty bad.

Hi, I am a noob.
That said, my power supply died a few weeks ago and with my current build (and what was available in-store), 430w was fine and that's what I ended up with...
Now here I am considering a quadro 6000 which uses 200w on its own.

Is 430w too low?

I keep reading your post over and over again and don't see where you say what 430W you have. Am I missing that?