[SOLVED] Is 6gb vram enough for 1080p/1440p

Ahhmmed

BANNED
Mar 30, 2020
Hello guys , I bought a rtx 2060 8 months ago , and i want to know if that gpu with its 6 gb vram can run the next generation games at 1440p or 1080p ultra +60 fps , because it is my first build and i am not an expert , should i be fine for ultra/high 1440p gaming +60fps for the next 2 years , will the 6gb vram bother me ?

Solution
Not to worry.
Here is an older post on vram:
VRAM has become a marketing issue.
My understanding is that vram is more of a performance issue than a functional issue.
A game needs to have most of the data in vram that it uses most of the time.
Somewhat like real ram.
If a game needs something not in vram, it needs to get it across the pcie boundary
hopefully from real ram and hopefully not from a hard drive.
It is not informative to know to what level the available vram is filled.
Possibly much of what is there is not needed.
What is not known is the rate of vram exchange.
Vram is managed by the Graphics card driver, and by the game. There may be differences in effectiveness between amd and nvidia cards.
And differences between games...
Not to worry.
Here is an older post on vram:
VRAM has become a marketing issue.
My understanding is that vram is more of a performance issue than a functional issue.
A game needs to have most of the data in vram that it uses most of the time.
Somewhat like real ram.
If a game needs something not in vram, it needs to get it across the pcie boundary
hopefully from real ram and hopefully not from a hard drive.
It is not informative to know to what level the available vram is filled.
Possibly much of what is there is not needed.
What is not known is the rate of vram exchange.
Vram is managed by the Graphics card driver, and by the game. There may be differences in effectiveness between amd and nvidia cards.
And differences between games.
Here is an older performance test comparing 2gb with 4gb vram.