[SOLVED] Is it worth upgrading an intel core i3 to i5 or i7

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 20, 2019
Hello, I am a beginner on this issue. I currently have a computer with 8gb of ram, and an Intel Core i3-7100 (Kabylake) 3.9 GHz Dual Core. I went to the hp website for my computer specifically, and it's telling me that I can upgrade to any of these two cores:
  • Intel Core i5-7400 (Kabylake) 3.0 GHz Quad Core
  • Intel Core i7-7700 (Kabylake) 3.6 GHz Quad Core

I use my computer for 3D-rendering such as daz or maya. I also occasionally game on stuff like sims 4. I was wondering if any of you guys can recommend an upgrade based on that criteria. Obviously the core i7 is the more powerful, but also more expensive. I wonder if it's worth the upgrade for me. My computer does seem to struggle sometimes, even for the most basic functions with the core i3. Thanks to everyone in advance.

Solution
the slimline chassis will need to be replaced when the motherboard is swapped out. the PSU on that system is only 180W.
if you upgrade as I suggested above, the next upgrade should be a chassis, a PSU and a motherboard as these three will need to be upgraded together.

R_1

Expert
Ambassador
think of it like this
the i3 is half an i7 at different speeds. 2/4 slower vs 4/8 faster cores
the i5 is an i7 with SMT disabled. the actual cores are faster than the i3 SMT threads. still slower than the faster clocked i7.
the i7 has it all, fast clocks, 4 full cores with SMT. (SMT AKA- hyper threading, symmetrical multi-threaded)

Aug 20, 2019
  1. I'm sorry, I don't know what rig specs are. But my computer specs are 64-bit hp desktop with i3-7100 (Kabylake) 3.9 GHz Dual Core and 8gb of ram.
  2. Yes, a bit too slow. I render models as a freelancer. But more than that, I see that sometimes my pc struggles a bit too much just to open googe chrome or even the file explorer. I just want a bit more power.
  3. The budget is around $300.
  4. I live in the U.S.A.

Aug 20, 2019