Is my GPU getting enough power?

Sketchice

Reputable
Dec 12, 2014
I'm just wondering since my PC has been restarting recently and after a lot of googling I have pinpointed it to being a power problem.

I'm new to building computers and built my first a bit over a year ago with the help of my Dad and everything worked fine with the GTX 660. Recently I upgraded to a GTX 970 and while playing graphically intensive games like Assassins Creed 4, Far Cry 4, CoD: Advanced Warfare etc. it plays for about 30 - 60 minutes before restarting without any error warnings. This is kind of confusing since both cards require a similar amount of power. Older and less pretty games like Mortal Kombat, Counter Strike, Skyrim etc. have no effect and I can play them non-stop.

It's not overheating, the max temperature is about 65C before restarting which to my knowledge is fine. Although if it isn't please yell at me because in truth I'm just going off of stuff I've googled here.

One thing I will add is my PSU only has one 6-pin so I need to use a molex -> PCIe 6-pin plug and one of the things I tried is using two of them, this resulted in the graphics card barely functioning, the restart times being earlier and some sound glitches. So what I'm trying to get at is that I might be plugging these in wrong some how. Is there a specific way to plug them in?

Some Specs
Operating System: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology
System Model: Z87X-D3H
BIOS: F5
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40ghz (8 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Display Specs
Name : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
Manafacturer: NVIDIA
Chip Type: GeForce GTX 970
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Type: Full Display Device
Approx. Total Memory: 7980MB

Click here for PSU sticker (large image)