Is my graphics card dead? Or is something else causing my problems?

Raven101

Commendable
May 26, 2016
As i'm not very tech savvy, I hope I can provide the information needed.

I was playing Skyrim and would get random crashes. I thought it to be Skyrims problem but now i'm wondering if it wasn't my graphics card busy dying.

The same thing happened two days ago except this time the entire screen was covered in black and grey stripes and a loud noise (hum?) could be heard through my headphones. I restarted my pc and heard a single, loud and short beep which usually means there's a problem. Besides that, it won't boot past the windows loading screen before going all black and freezing, not even the mouse shows up.

I did everything I could think of: Removed and replaced the ram trying different slots.
Clean the pc using compressed air.
Removed the graphics card and cleaned it thoroughly.
And still nothing.

So I called a friend who studied these things and noticed that when we turned on the pc this time, the single, loud and short beep was gone but it still wouldn't go past the loading screen.

We reinstalled windows and finally we were greeted with a desktop. He updated the BIOS and windows was busy updating when the screen went black and froze again. I'm not exactly sure what he did from then on but he found that when windows installed the last update (which I think has something to do with the graphics card, not sure.) that's when everything would go black. We tested the graphics card in a different pc and it wasn't even recognized by the motherboard.

Since we tested it on two computers, we're pretty sure its the graphics card, but I don't understand how as it isn't even older than two years and I've never pushed it to it's limits

Windows 10 pro
AMD FX 8120
ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cougar CMX 650W
AMD Radeon R9 270

Forgive the long winded explanation and I hope it's something else and not the almost-brand-new graphics card which bankrupt me....

Solution