is my newbie build any good?

Aug 19, 2018
Hello!
i'm a newbie to building a PC, i followed Chris Miconi's PC building guide on this website and it has been great. i plan on using this PC for gaming and machine learning. here is my build https://pcpartpicker.com/list/4PqFbX

so here are my questions:
are 2 PCIe slots on the motherboard enough? i plan on using a wifi card, maaaybe a USB c in the far future if i notice that i'm needing it frequently. also from my understanding i don't need an ethernet or a sound card, they are already built in the motherboard. also i'm happy with 4 SATA 3 slots as im only going to use 1 SSD and may add an HDD later on.

for the GPU i'll try to find a GTX 1050 4GB for under 170$, maybe a local store has one laying around for the old price? i have my eyes set on EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti buuut i wont be picky, 170$ >_> if i can't find it i might just get a ASUS GeForce GT 1030 2GB. if it comes to this, would that be a good option?

is 16GB ram too much? i was planning on getting 1x8GB, but i became concerned that i might not find the same memory stick in the future in my country (Egypt), and i read that i might face problems mixing ram brands or 2 rams running on the speed of the slower ram.

for cooling ill use the stock cooler that comes with the CPU. if i found any problem with cooling ill get a Hyper 212 Turbo or a Hyper 212 Evo.

for parts availability, sadly i'm limited to the parts on this website: http://www.egprices.com/en/ it has the cheapest and most versatile products for building a PC in Egypt.

overall is this a good build? Thanks :----D

Solution

Unless you are planning to install more PCIe cards you only need 2, a PCIe x16 slots for the GPU and a PCIe x1 slot for the the PCIe WiFi card.

Machine learning applications can use a lot of RAM, so 16GB memory should be...
You have 3 PCIe slots
1 x PCIe 3.0 x16 slots for GPUs like a GTX 1050ti
2 x PCIe 2.0 x1 slots for any add-on card like a PCIe WiFi card.