[SOLVED] Is my ram overclock correct? (first time)

anzetek1

Commendable
Aug 19, 2017
So i decided to use ryzen dram calucaltor since i have never done this before. So i put in the right info (ill mark those with the square) and then proceeded to select the SAFE option. The reason why i decided to OC is because it was on 2133mhz by default when its rated for 3200mhz.

--> http://prntscr.com/p32ife (Those are the things i found and have changed, beside SOC which was a bit higher than the app says + i didn't really find it because i wasn't too sure about stuff)
--> http://prntscr.com/p32iuj (Here is a full picture from the calculator without me crossing the stuff i changed out.)
--> http://prntscr.com/p32jev (RAM temps after the OC has been applied)

OC passed cinebench R20 with 3829 score.

Specs:
Ryzen 7 2700x
Asus Crosshair VII hero
Corsair vengeance RGB 4x8gb (rated 3200mhz)
Asus strix RTX 2070

So my question here is, did i do everything correctly? What should i watch out and be aware of? Anything that i forgot and i should change?

Solution
You don't need to use Ryzen Dram Calc to get your DIMMS to run at rated speed.

You should only need to set XMP/DOCP mode for 3200mhz, and you don't have to change any other bios details. XMP is the way to go to get the DIMMS running as they should. Dram Calc is really for OC'ers who want to get the most out of their DIMMS.

On Asus, mobo's, you enable DOCP (direct over clock profile) it's the Asus equivalent of XMP. Select the memory speed, and your ram should run at it's rated specs. This will be much better than what you are doing.
You don't need to use Ryzen Dram Calc to get your DIMMS to run at rated speed.

You should only need to set XMP/DOCP mode for 3200mhz, and you don't have to change any other bios details. XMP is the way to go to get the DIMMS running as they should. Dram Calc is really for OC'ers who want to get the most out of their DIMMS.