Question Is there a fix for monitor "black blink"?

emitfudd

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2017
I have an Acer Predator model XB271HU. It is a Gsync 1440P 144Hz that can be overclocked to 165Hz. I have been using it for about 2 years now with an average of 40 hours per week of gaming. Within the past few weeks I have noticed two things. When restarting the computer it goes to the Asus screen where you can hit F2/delete to go into bios and then it goes to the next screen with the white spinning circle. Between here and the password screen I am getting white horizontal lines all over the screen. This is the only time this happens.

The second issue is the screen going black for just a second and then it comes right back. I have read about quite a few people complaining of this and referring to it as black blink. It happens during gaming and surfing the internet and random times but not very frequent at all. Maybe once a day.

I have replaced my display port cable. I found the old one was slightly bent at the connector on the monitor end. It was too short and I pulled it to tight to get to my computer. I have no idea how long it was like that or if it caused any damage to the display port connection.

Gaming at 1440P at 165Hz on ultra settings is crystal clear. No sign of white lines, just the occasional black blink.

I have updated my Nvidia driver and that didn't help.

Most articles about this are blaming Gsync and say that turning off Gsync solves the problem. I have had Gsync enabled for the last 2 years so that seems unlikely. I also read that the monitor has to adjust to the 165Hz when you first power it up but again this has not been an issue until very recently and only would explain the white lines not the black blink.

Does anyone else here have either of these issues and have you found a solution? I am wondering if perhaps my monitor has been used for so many hours that it is getting ready to die.

emitfudd

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2017