Is water cooling worth it?

Mike3k24

Respectable
Apr 21, 2016
Is purchasing a water cooling kit worth the prices they're usually at? Anyways I've never worked with water cooling before so I need to know a bit more about it. I've heard bad things about it but also heard good things. Will your CPU last longer with water cooling?

Solution
In a case large enough to support a standard 160mm tall air cooler, I find it hard to justify liquid cooling.

My canned rant on liquid cooling:
------------------------start of rant-------------------
You buy a liquid cooler to be able to extract an extra multiplier or two out of your OC.
How much do you really need?
I do not much like all in one liquid coolers when a good air cooler like a Noctua or phanteks can do the job just as well.
A liquid cooler will be expensive, noisy, less reliable, and will not cool any better
in a well ventilated case.
Liquid cooling is really air cooling, it just puts the heat exchange in a different place.
The orientation of the radiator will cause a problem.
If you orient it to take in cool air...

PC-4LIFE

Respectable
Nov 14, 2016
Depends on the quality of the cooler you buy. Some will perform identically to air coolers, some will perform better.
You can achieve better overclocks (if your CPU supports it) by raising voltage higher since temperature isn't a limiting factor.

Unless you have a k series CPU or an overclockable AMD CPU, it's not worth getting a water coole

rubix_1011

Contributing Writer
You would have to define 'worth it' in terms that make sense to you. For me, it is worth it because I enjoy doing it. Good watercooling is fairly expensive and the cost could otherwise be used to upgrade other components in your system.

Just having liquid cooling, like an all in one cooler, doesn't mean it's good liquid cooling or it performs at the same level as a full watercooling loop. Please see the sticky linked below.

atljsf

Honorable
BANNED