Issue installing graphics card.

Feb 26, 2018
This is my first time installing a new graphics card. My motherboard is an MSI 760gm-p34 (fx). My current graphics card I'm trying to replace is a PNY GeForce GT 730. My new Graphics card is a GeForce GTX-750 TI. I have two questions. My first one is do not all motherboard have clips to detach the graphics card from the motherboard? Ive looked everywhere and there isn't one. My second one is that I dont have the plug that goes from my power supply to my GeForce GTX-750 TI. Do I need that? My other graphics card didn't even have that. If I do need it then how do I fix this?

Thanks!

Solution
yes there is usually a clip that retains the gpu its on the MB pcie slot usually part of the plastic surround. sounds like yours has been busted off. not the end of the world as it is not actually providing any support. if your new GPU needs a 6 or 8 pin and your psu doent have those cables. the solution would be to get a new power supply. good news is that that isnt difficult to do
yes there is usually a clip that retains the gpu its on the MB pcie slot usually part of the plastic surround. sounds like yours has been busted off. not the end of the world as it is not actually providing any support. if your new GPU needs a 6 or 8 pin and your psu doent have those cables. the solution would be to get a new power supply. good news is that that isnt difficult to do

Solution
The PCIe x16 (long slot) retaining tab would be on the right side if you had it. You can't miss it. I have one broken off an older system when I used to swap GPUs with it regularly. Just make sure it's screwed in to the case bracket good and you'll be fine. Regarding no power connectors, the GTX 750 Ti is low powered enough it can run off the power of the PCIe slot (75W max) so no external power connector is needed .

Feb 26, 2018

Wait do you're saying I don't need the 6 pin and can just put the GTX 750 Ti in anyway?