Juxtapose

Tim

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2004
1,833
0
19,780
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Card Name: Juxtapose
Cost: 3U
Type: Sorcery
Pow/Tgh:
Rules Text: You and target player exchange control of the creature
you each control with the highest converted mana cost.
Then exchange control of artifacts the same way. If
two or more permanents a player controls are tied for
highest cost, that player chooses one. (This effect
doesn't end at end of turn.)


Scenerio:
- Player A has a critter (CMC of 6) and no artifacts.
- Player B a critter (CMC of 4) and two artifacts.

What happens when Player B casts Juxtapose?

Do they swap creatures and ignore the artifact part (since Player A has no
artifacts)? Or does the spell fizzle since the second part can't be done.

What if Player A also had a critter with a CMC of 5, that was enchanted with
an Unholy Strength (B) and Spirit Link (W) - do the CMC's of the
enchantments get added to the creature's CMC, making it a CMC of 7?


TIA,

Tim
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Thu, 3 Feb 2005 12:36:11 +1100, Tim <tim@blah.com> wrote:
>Juxtapose 3U Sorcery
> You and target player exchange control of the creature you each control with
> the highest converted mana cost. Then exchange control of artifacts the same
> way. If two or more permanents a player controls are tied for highest cost,
> that player chooses one. (This effect doesn't end at end of turn.)
>
>Scenerio:
>- Player A has a critter (CMC of 6) and no artifacts.
>- Player B a critter (CMC of 4) and two artifacts.
>
>What happens when Player B casts Juxtapose?
>
>Do they swap creatures and ignore the artifact part (since Player A has no
>artifacts)? Or does the spell fizzle since the second part can't be done.

"fizzle" isn't a Magic term, and hasn't been for quite some time now. The
target of the spell is legal, so it resolves; it does everything it can do of
its effect. A and B swap creatures, and do not swap artifacts because they
are not able to.

>What if Player A also had a critter with a CMC of 5, that was enchanted with
>an Unholy Strength (B) and Spirit Link (W) - do the CMC's of the
>enchantments get added to the creature's CMC, making it a CMC of 7?

Um, why in the WORLD would that happen? Juxtapose doesn't ask about the
converted mana cost(s) of enchantments enchanting the creature(s) or
artifact(s), since it doesn't SAY it does so. Enchanting a creature doesn't
change its CMC in any way. This is still a creature whose CMC is 5, and since
A also has a creature whose CMC is 7, this creature will be ignored by the
swap-creatures part of the effect.

(It sounds like you may be learning Magic from someone with decidedly odd
ideas about how the rules work; you may want to grab a copy of the rulebook
for yourself, from
http://www.wizards.com/magic/comprules/MagicCompRules041001.txt
(this rulebook will be updated soon, so you may want to keep watch at
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/rules/tourneyplayer )
, and familiarize yourself with it.)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.