looking for budget ssd

Mashari_F

Commendable
Mar 9, 2016
looking for an ssd to replace my laptops hdd, cpu core i5 4200u

i have no experience in ssds, could you help me?

i prefer sizes 250gb or 500 gb

Solution
The EVO uses what's known as TLC NAND. In general, TLC NAND has less write endurance than MLC or SLC. SLC is the best, but very expensive and only really feasible for enterprise use, it has the highest write endurance. MLC is more common than SLC and has less write endurance than SLC but more than TLC. So in general SLC > MLC > TLC. TLC is the cheapest solution however and that is why they are cheaper.

Before you go off and spend more money on a MLC though, I have to tell you that the write endurance of TLC is more than enough for the average user. Especially if you don't fill the drive to capacity. I have a 500GB 840 EVO and it has 67.88TB of host writes on it. SMART still shows it at like 99% endurance, I've had it like 3...

Mashari_F

Commendable
Mar 9, 2016

im in ksa, but i can buy it online, because prices here are crazy

The EVO uses what's known as TLC NAND. In general, TLC NAND has less write endurance than MLC or SLC. SLC is the best, but very expensive and only really feasible for enterprise use, it has the highest write endurance. MLC is more common than SLC and has less write endurance than SLC but more than TLC. So in general SLC > MLC > TLC. TLC is the cheapest solution however and that is why they are cheaper.

Before you go off and spend more money on a MLC though, I have to tell you that the write endurance of TLC is more than enough for the average user. Especially if you don't fill the drive to capacity. I have a 500GB 840 EVO and it has 67.88TB of host writes on it. SMART still shows it at like 99% endurance, I've had it like 3 years now. I'm probably going to replace this drive for something larger long before it starts having problems.