Looking for CPU 5years+

Rafiul27

Honorable
Jan 13, 2014
I'm a casual gamer and bit of an enthusiast with hardware. Want a cpu and mobo upgrade to last me at least the next 5 years before i upgrade. Budget anything upto £250 but obviously doesn't mean i will spend that much if not needed, so more can be spent on the mobo.

Looking at the

Intel i7-6700 both K and non K variants (£210-£235)
Intel i7-4790k (£250)
Intel i5-7600 both K and non K variants (£225-£240)

I'm not too into overclocking although i have some experience in it, the games i play don't need overclocking for optimum performance hence opting for non K variants. I have a gtx1060 and would like 60+fps of course on high/ultra settings.

I'm very aware of ryzen, but the only two processors in my price range are the ryzen5 1600 and ryzen5 1600x. No idea how well they perform since they aren't released but just from looking at the ryzen7 benchmarks, i think those intel chips above will perform better.

Any good motherboard and cpu combinations, please comment below

thanks

Solution

Rafiul27

Honorable
Jan 13, 2014

i don't play anything too demanding cpu/gpu wise. moba games/mmorpgs.

but i want to get into more pc gaming or leave a window if i ever want to immerse myself into the full extent so essentially, "future proofing" the CPU upgrade (obviously no such thing in technology to be honest) so maybe getting a 7700 or 7700k is my best bet?

since i don't want to touch the cpu for a good 5 years. It's cheaper than upgrading every 3-4 years with mid to top range components for sure, rather get the best and keep it for a long while... maybe i've answered my own question lol. i don't know

Rafiul27

Honorable
Jan 13, 2014

not now, overclocking is only provides a small benefit in my opinion, only huge overclocks provide a reasonable performance increase but at the cost of cpu health.