[SOLVED] Looking to upgrade pc

Apr 16, 2020
Hello all, I’m fairly new to pc building and stuff. Bought a pre made pc a few years ago and looking to upgrade my CPU and gpu. (Mainly cpu as I am getting high CPU usage in task manager when playing games). What would be some good options I could consider to boost my performance?

My budget is around $500-$1000 aud

Current set up

Monitor benq Zowie 144 hz

Gpu - nvidia GeForce gtx 1060 3gb

CPU - intel core i5 7500

Motherboard - gigabyte technology model b250M-D3H-CF

RAM - 24 gb ddr4

Solution
Well, yes. There is. You could simply get an I7 7700/k processor for a bump, in cpu resources, they would be the only ones worth getting. But depending on what games you play, it will be more of a side-grade than an upgrade. You could look to the second hand market for cheaper prices, than buying one new. They are expensive new, even though generations old now.

Your current CPU/GPU are quite well balanced. with a CPU upgrade, you will get a slight bump in performance in a lot of games, but not as much as changing the GPU. Ideally you'd want to be doing both to have any real appreciable bump in performance.

But as I pointed out, the system linked above, would be a huge upgrade, and as a base system will last you a dew years with only...
Hey there,

With that budget, you are much better off getting a new base system. If you keep your GPU for the moment, and keep your ram, and put it with something like this:

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 3.6 GHz 6-Core Processor ($326.70 @ Newegg Australia)
Motherboard: MSI B450 TOMAHAWK MAX ATX AM4 Motherboard ($204.70 @ Device Deal)
Storage: Kingston A400 240 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($68.00 @ Shopping Express)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.00 @ Computer Alliance)
Power Supply: Corsair CXM 550 W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-modular ATX Power Supply ($124.00 @ Shopping Express)
Total: $782.40