[SOLVED] Low performance on GTX 1080 and i7 7700

Jarema

Reputable
Apr 16, 2016
Hey all,

Recently except my usual music production stuff which works perfectly fine, I started playing new videos games which are:

Hunt: Showdown
Escape From Tarkov

And I encountered some weirdly slow performance. That means Hunt playing around 50-110 FPS on 1080p all settings to max.

I started debugging it a little as I found out that lowering graphic settings did increase max FPS, but the dips were still around 60 FPS.
Suspecting overheating seeing around 78c temps, I cleaned heavily my PC and temps went dont.

Next thing was suspecting CPU bottlenecking (which is weird as i7 7700 never bottlenecked gtx1080 for me) and I got some results, that surprised me:

Nor CPU, nor GPU were at 100%.

Are those games not able to utilize CPU to 100% (as there are few cores and threads) and values presented are actually bottlenecking?
Is there other potential problem with my setup?
I had random issues with this PC for quite some time.
WItcher3 and Red Dead Redemption 2 work flawlessy on high/ultra details at 1080p/60FPS, where PUBG had issues to stay around 90 FPS even on medium/low settings.
Doom Eternal keeps around 90 FPS.
Valorant and CS:GO hit above 200 FPS on average.

My goal is to run at least above 100 FPS in most FPS games, above 144 in competetive FPS games and 60 in all the rest for 1080p setup and high settings.

Full setup:

Motherboard: Asus Prime B250M-A
GPU: MSI GTX 1080 OC (not OC'ed for this test)
CPU: i7 7700
RAM: DDR4 16 GB (single stick, though. I heard though it does not matter?)

screenshots of monitoring while running hunt:showdown game:
GPU
View: https://imgur.com/a/Q7kWH0l

View: https://imgur.com/11bhpGq

CPU
View: https://imgur.com/ZDl2F9A

View: https://imgur.com/B7jKEeK

Thanks for help!

Solution