(LSJ) victim of habit

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

James Coupe wrote:
> In message <3MX6e.4639$go4.3401@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net>, LSJ
> <vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com> writes:
>
>>He is only prohibited from having equipment. He can equip with
>>a location just fine, since doing so never violates his prohibition.
>>And he can use Vast Wealth to get that location.
>
> That overturns the ruling I just pointed to about Beast:
> <http://groups-beta.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/6
> e2fe4398c07614f>

The Locquipment is still an action card. Beast cannot play it.

> Specifically, it also cites that the current restriction on Beast
> matches Beast's old restriction: "Beast cannot equip" because the
> "cannot have equipment" notices that the card is an equipment card he
> can't have, and doesn't notice that it will be a location when in play.

Specifically it notes that that was spurios, as well.

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"Colin McGuigan" <maguaSPAM@BGONEspeakeasy.net> wrote in message
news:H5Sdnft9aMMgxMHfRVn-rQ@speakeasy.net...
> LSJ wrote:
> > He is only prohibited from having equipment. He can equip with
> > a location just fine, since doing so never violates his prohibition.
> > And he can use Vast Wealth to get that location.
>
> Isn't a location card that is not in play an equipment card, and
> therefore equipment?
>
> It seems that you state here:
> That Beast cannot equip with loquipment. Am I reading it wrong?

Here's the current ruling:

Beast can get locquipment via Vast Wealth, since it is neither
an action card action nor does it violate his prohibition on
having equipment (since he never has equipment -- by the time
he has it, it's in play and a location).

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (Remove spam trap to reply).
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

In message <Bt_6e.4705$go4.173@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net>, LSJ
<vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com> writes:
>James Coupe wrote:
>> In message <3MX6e.4639$go4.3401@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net>, LSJ
>> <vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com> writes:
>>
>>>He is only prohibited from having equipment. He can equip with
>>>a location just fine, since doing so never violates his prohibition.
>>>And he can use Vast Wealth to get that location.
>> That overturns the ruling I just pointed to about Beast:
>> <http://groups-beta.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/6
>> e2fe4398c07614f>
>
>The Locquipment is still an action card. Beast cannot play it.

Not true when that ruling was made.

<http://groups.google.co.uk/groups?selm=3C19FC5B.66BE3DA6%40white-
wolf.com>
> As a sidequestion I assume that Rewind Time is moot anyway as an
> equipment card is not an action card. Correct?

Yes. Although the Jyhad rulebook identified them as action cards.
That changed in the 1995 V:TES rulebook. It may change back in the
Camarilla edition; I'll have the DT look into it.
***

The ruling on Beast was made significantly pre-Camarilla Edition, thus
the action card restriction could not be invoked at that time -
loquipment wasn't an action card in that sense.


Can you explain how that ruling functions at that time? Specifically so
that the card text matched the original intent of "Beast cannot equip"
which clearly prevented Beast taking an action to get loquipment.


>> Specifically, it also cites that the current restriction on Beast
>> matches Beast's old restriction: "Beast cannot equip" because the
>> "cannot have equipment" notices that the card is an equipment card he
>> can't have, and doesn't notice that it will be a location when in play.
>
>Specifically it notes that that was spurios, as well.

"A bit", "a lot?" and "maybe" don't seem quite so certain, from where I
stand.

--
James Coupe "Why do so many talented people turn out to be sexual
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D deviants? Why can't they just be normal like me and
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 look at internet pictures of men's cocks all day?"
13D7E668C3695D623D5D -- www.livejournal.com/users/scarletdemon/
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

LSJ <vtesrepSPAM@trapwhite-wolf.com> wrote:
> "Colin McGuigan" <maguaSPAM@BGONEspeakeasy.net> wrote in message
> news:H5Sdnft9aMMgxMHfRVn-rQ@speakeasy.net...
>> LSJ wrote:
>> > He is only prohibited from having equipment. He can equip with
>> > a location just fine, since doing so never violates his prohibition.
>> > And he can use Vast Wealth to get that location.
>>
>> Isn't a location card that is not in play an equipment card, and
>> therefore equipment?
>>
>> It seems that you state here:
>> That Beast cannot equip with loquipment. Am I reading it wrong?

> Here's the current ruling:

> Beast can get locquipment via Vast Wealth, since it is neither
> an action card action nor does it violate his prohibition on
> having equipment (since he never has equipment -- by the time
> he has it, it's in play and a location).

If Beast were in the Camarilla (Out of the Frying Pan), could he
be the recipient of a locquipment if Sheldon calls Alastor?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"Jozxyqk" <jfeuerst@eecs.tufts.edu> wrote in message
news:IeSdnSo1a5ItsMDfRVn-rA@comcast.com...
> LSJ <vtesrepSPAM@trapwhite-wolf.com> wrote:
> > Here's the current ruling:
>
> > Beast can get locquipment via Vast Wealth, since it is neither
> > an action card action nor does it violate his prohibition on
> > having equipment (since he never has equipment -- by the time
> > he has it, it's in play and a location).
>
> If Beast were in the Camarilla (Out of the Frying Pan), could he
> be the recipient of a locquipment if Sheldon calls Alastor?


If it doesn't involve Beast playing an action card or having
equipment, then it doesn't violate those two restrictions
on his card text, as above.

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (Remove spam trap to reply).
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu