[SOLVED] Manage ips on a workgroup

david_621

Commendable
Feb 24, 2017
Hi, im fairly new to networking but i had a question hopefully someone can help with.

I have a lot of pcs to manage 300+ and they are all on a workgroup with the same pc name. but we have to switch them out when they break or need fixed.

So then we have to re setup the ip and its all good.

but we seem to be having moving ips.. like each ip has a specfic seat # it goes to but it seems like they are loosing their lease (not dhcp but all static)
if i just plug it in it will auto get an ip within our range. its either that or someone is just being lazy. (prob this)

But i'm wondering other than at the switch level with port based ip management is there any way to reliably manage that many ips??

and before you ask we dont have a domain, active directory, dhcp server or anything else a business of this size should have.

Solution
thanks for all the info btw. will talk to my boss about setting up inhouse dhcp server. i believe those are managed switches but that wouldn't matter would it?

First you would need to figure out the exact(!) requirements on your infrastructure. Maybe there is a very specific reason for the current setup. Do you want to keep having IP assigned by port? Then a dhcp server will probably not help much. You would need to go into the switch configuration, which can be quite tedious, depending on the switch.
If you want machine-based static IPs, then a dhcp server, combined with an AD server and DNS will get you a long way (you can install all these roles on the same Server). Or you can ofc just assign an IP to each machine manually...

McKeu

Proper
Mar 27, 2019
and before you ask we dont have a domain, active directory, dhcp server or anything else a business of this size should have.