march, lattice, creature enchantments

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

in the scenario, march of the machines, mycosynth lattice, and a
creature enchantment is in play at the same time.

The creature enchantment just becomes a creature and stop enchanting
the creature, right?

Would it make any difference in which order it came to play?

Kestell
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On 4 Feb 2005 14:03:39 -0800, kestell <kestell@gmail.com> wrote:
>in the scenario, march of the machines, mycosynth lattice, and a
>creature enchantment is in play at the same time.
>
>The creature enchantment just becomes a creature and stop enchanting
>the creature, right?

It becomes an _artifact_, in addition to its previous type(s), because of the
Lattice; it becomes an artifact creature because of the March, and the rules
(212.1c) also say that means it retains prior type(s). So it does not become
"just a creature" - it becomes an enchant-creature creature. It does stop
enchanting the creature, right, because a creature can't enchant another
creature - 212.4g - but it does NOT stop being an enchant-creature, so gets
sent to the graveyard because it's in play but isn't attached to anything.

>Would it make any difference in which order it came to play?

Nope. The March effect depends on the Lattice effect, here; the Lattice
effect can't depend on the March effect. So the March always gets applied
"on top of" the Lattice, which ends up killing off all local enchantments.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

I seem to have experienced an extremely realistic hallucination in which
kestell said...
> in the scenario, march of the machines, mycosynth lattice, and a
> creature enchantment is in play at the same time.
>
> The creature enchantment just becomes a creature and stop enchanting
> the creature, right?

Yes... momentarily, and then it goes to the graveyard as a state based
effect, since it's still a local enchantment and isn't enchanting
anything.

> Would it make any difference in which order it came to play?

Not that I can see.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

I seem to have experienced an extremely realistic hallucination in which
Jeff Heikkinen said...
> I seem to have experienced an extremely realistic hallucination in which
> kestell said...
> > in the scenario, march of the machines, mycosynth lattice, and a
> > creature enchantment is in play at the same time.
> >
> > The creature enchantment just becomes a creature and stop enchanting
> > the creature, right?
>
> Yes... momentarily, and then it goes to the graveyard as a state based
> effect, since it's still a local enchantment and isn't enchanting
> anything.

Actually, this isn't quite right (though the end result is). It wouldn't
move off the permanent it was enchanting at all, it would simply go to
the graveyard, by the following rule:

212.4g A local enchantment can't be attached to itself, and a local
enchantment that's also a creature can't be attached to another object.
If this occurs somehow, the local enchantment is put into its owner's
graveyard. (This is a state-based effect. See rule 420.)