• Now's your chance win big! Join our community and get entered to win a RTX 2060 GPU, plus more! Join here.

    Pi Cast Episode 3 streams live on Tuesday, August 4th at 2:30 pm ET (7:30 PM BST). Watch live right here!

    Catch Scharon on the Tom's Hardware Show live on Thursday, August 6th at 2:00 pm ET (7:00 PM BST). Click here!

Question Memory Management BSOD on restart, no dump file and have no idea what is causing it

Jun 7, 2020
9
0
10
0
Hello, for about a month I've been having this issue where every few times I restarts my PC I will get a memory management bsod. Even though dump files are turned on in event viewer it says it failed to create a dump file. My computer works completely fine and I don't get any crashes or critical error, this issue only occurs once every few restarts (the bsod shows up before the boot).

I've tried running memtest (for a few hours) and windows memory diagnostic and both say there are no errors, SFC scan and DISM scan health show no errors as well. All drivers are up to date and I've even reinstalled my gpu drivers a few times but it still happens. I have no XMP or overclock's active and I haven't installed any programs other than games. Windows defender also says I don't have any threats.
It's really hard to recreate the bsod because it will only occurs once a week and in event viewer the only error that comes up is that it failed to create a dump file. Please help, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated because I have no idea what is causing it.

My specs are:
  • Gigabyte Rx 5700 gaming oc
  • Amd 2600
  • 2 x corsair vengeance running at 2400 mhz
  • Gigabyte B450 pro wifi
My parts are all 5 months new and I've only had this issue since getting my Rx 5700 (2 months ago) but I don't know if that is the cause.
 

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
Make sure that virtual memory isn't turned off in the advanced system settings section of the control panel system applet.


You shouldn't need to increase it, just make sure that it's set to allow Windows to automatically manage it itself. A lack of any virtual memory will cause Windows to not be able to create a dump file.

Also, you don't mention anything about your storage devices or Windows itself. Are we using new drives, old drives, combination of the two?

Was a clean install of Windows done when the new built was assembled or are you using a Windows installation from a previous build?

How FULL is the hard drive OR partition where Windows is installed?
 
Reactions: cononator
Jun 7, 2020
9
0
10
0
Make sure that virtual memory isn't turned off in the advanced system settings section of the control panel system applet.


You shouldn't need to increase it, just make sure that it's set to allow Windows to automatically manage it itself. A lack of any virtual memory will cause Windows to not be able to create a dump file.

Also, you don't mention anything about your storage devices or Windows itself. Are we using new drives, old drives, combination of the two?

Was a clean install of Windows done when the new built was assembled or are you using a Windows installation from a previous build?

How FULL is the hard drive OR partition where Windows is installed?
Windows virtual memory is definitely turned on. I have two drives, a 250 gb sdd where windows is installed and a 1 tb hard-drive for games and both drives are around half full. I bought them 5 months ago when I built the pc with a clean install of windows. I have used chkdsk and no errors are found. The dump file should be created but its not. I never had this issue for the first few months of using the pc, so do you think factory resetting could fix any faulty drivers and the issue because it's only other thing I can think of doing?
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Windows treats drives as memory too, as its where page file is. So maybe the memory management error is caused by drive. Its always a chance anyway. What drives in PC?

Page file location/size main reasons for no dumps. I see Darkbreeze already suggested that.
One tool i use to look at PC after crash won't help with no errors being recorded.

Are you sure the ram is on the motherboard listing (or the corsair listing for motherboard)? what are its codes?

Its always possible its a driver you missed, so can you run driver view for me - http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/driverview.html
All it does is shows what drivers are running on PC, it doesn't install any.
When you run it, go into view tab and set it to hide all Microsoft Drivers, as it will reduce list length

Can you take a screenshot from (and including) driver name to (and including) Creation date. Upload to an image sharing website and show link.
Unless you notice an obviously old driver. Not all old drivers are necessarily the obvious cause, some have fake dates (kapersky files can show way too old (1975) or in the Future (2040) but thats just to keep them alive) so if you not sure, I can always check.
 
Jun 7, 2020
9
0
10
0
Windows treats drives as memory too, as its where page file is. So maybe the memory management error is caused by drive. Its always a chance anyway. What drives in PC?

Page file location/size main reasons for no dumps. I see Darkbreeze already suggested that.
One tool i use to look at PC after crash won't help with no errors being recorded.

Are you sure the ram is on the motherboard listing (or the corsair listing for motherboard)? what are its codes?

Its always possible its a driver you missed, so can you run driver view for me - http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/driverview.html
All it does is shows what drivers are running on PC, it doesn't install any.
When you run it, go into view tab and set it to hide all Microsoft Drivers, as it will reduce list length

Can you take a screenshot from (and including) driver name to (and including) Creation date. Upload to an image sharing website and show link.
Unless you notice an obviously old driver. Not all old drivers are necessarily the obvious cause, some have fake dates (kapersky files can show way too old (1975) or in the Future (2040) but thats just to keep them alive) so if you not sure, I can always check.
Hello, the two drives I have are:
  • Crucial MX500 250GB M.2 Type 2280SS SSD
  • Western Digital Blue 1TB SATA3 HDD 64M Caviar Blue
Both drives were bought brand new 5 months ago when I built my pc. The ram (dual slot 2400mhz) I have is listed as compatible with amd ryzen motherboard and I've stayed away from any overclocks.

Here is a link to the non-Microsoft drivers on driverview: https://ibb.co/d7BdbFf

Here is the image of the BSOD last time it happened for reference: https://ibb.co/BV7F79s
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I don't know if this will include tests for the ssd but it might - https://www.crucial.com/support/storage-executive
I doubt the hdd is cause but - https://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?p=3&lang=en

always helpful when there are no driver dates. times like these I wish I had 2 monitor.

Well, the chipset drivers are about 7 days old
display drivers look pretty new too
looks like only 1 version of Droidcam, no indication of files age.
your Ethernet driver is from 2018 - newer here - https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B450-AORUS-PRO-WIFI-rev-10/support#support-dl-driver-lan
new version of gigabyte fusion - https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B450-AORUS-PRO-WIFI-rev-10/support#support-dl-utility
BT drivers are from May 2020
newer Wifi drivers here - https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/29520/Windows-10-Wi-Fi-Drivers-for-Intel-Wireless-Adapters
realtek sound drivers are from May 2019, newer ones here - https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B450-AORUS-PRO-WIFI-rev-10/support#support-dl-driver-audio

BSOD image really doesn't help, as usual.
 
Jun 7, 2020
9
0
10
0
Thank you so much for your help.
I'll update all those drivers and run the ssd tests. I'll get back to you if the issue starts happening after that.
 

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
Gigabyte's own software, not including drivers for hardware used by Gigabyte on their motherboards that is from other manufacturers and developers, like Fusion, and their bundled motherboard utilities, don't have the best track record. I wouldn't be surprised at all to find something in the Gigabyte software to blame. But best to do as Colif suggests and update any drivers with newer versions as those are always an important factor.
 
Reactions: cononator

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I did ignore the Logitech drivers as they were new. Is that Logitech Gaming Software or G Hub? (it looks like lgs) as G Hub replaces LGS for most of their hardware.
He only has some Gigabyte drivers I can see
ene.exe = RGB (this is 3rd party, can be found on Asus boards as well as Gigabyte)
gdrv2.exe = RGB
gvcidrv64 = Gigabyte Aorus Engine

Novabenchmark (I was tired last night) is from 2018. Doubt it runs all the time. Program grabs all drivers, not just those actually running.
the 3 DMP files are part of windows.
 
Reactions: cononator
Jun 7, 2020
9
0
10
0
Those should be Logitech's keyboard drivers, shouldn't be causing any issues.
I've updated all the drivers and I also uninstalled a few programs like Gigabyte's software. If it does come up again in the next few days I'll do a windows reinstall and see if that helps. If nothing works I guess I'll just deal with it because it doesn't really effect me and my PC still performs well in games and benchmarks. But so far I've restarted it a few times yesterday and today and haven't had any bsod come up. Thanks for all your help.
 

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
Most, if not all, LPX memory was designed with timings that were intended for Intel platforms. It's also generally not usually considered to be high quality comparatively to most of what is recommended for use with Ryzen platforms. Could be relevant.

What is the exact model of your memory kit?
 
Jun 7, 2020
9
0
10
0
The ram I have is two 8gb 'CMK16GX4M2Z2400C16 DDR4 2400MHz Vengeance LPX DIMM'

When I built my pc I didn't realise ram varied in quality so I just went for the cheapest option, it could explain the issue I have been having. If you think upgrading my ram would be beneficial do you have any recommendations of what to buy?
 
Jun 7, 2020
9
0
10
0
I can't validate one way or the other right now, because Corsair's memory finder is not currently listing ANY Gigabyte B450 motherboards. I've reached out to them already so hopefully it's something they get fixed quickly.
Thanks for reaching out to them. After 7 days of not getting the bsod, I restart my pc and the bsod came up today with no dump file created. I don't think there is anything else I can do other than upgrade my ram which I won't be able to for a few months. In the mean time, I really need to know if this is something I should worry about and should I restart my pc less seeing that's the only time I get the error?
 

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
I really can't answer that but anytime you are getting memory errors of any kind, it should be a cause for concern.

It doesn't even need to be a BSOD for it to be a problem, in fact, at least then you know something is going on. Lesser problems, like bit flip and inversion, which are micro-errors, are far more devastating over the long term because you end up with completely corrupted file systems and data, that cannot be fixed. I'm not saying that that is what is happening on YOUR system, just that it is something that can happen with unstable memory configurations.

Have you run the FULL FOUR PASSES of all eleven tests in Memtest86? Not just "a few hours". FOUR PASSES, with no errors. If not, you should do that. If you can pass four passes with no errors then the problem is likely not your memory being in an unstable configuration but something else.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS