Microphone is very staticy on front port, and doesn't work in the back port.

George Mooey

Reputable
Nov 13, 2014
So I received a new headset microphone for christmas and decided to test it out. I plugged it in, testing it with my computers front port jack and it was very staticy. I did multiple tests, and sometimes the static was so overbearing that it was hard to even hear myself. I looked up any ways to fix this and someone suggested using the jacks in the back of my pc. So, I tried it and the microphone jack is not working (or I assume it's not). I plugged it in, and my computer detects it, but nothing is being recorded. The audio jack works fine though. Anyone know of a way to fix this issue?
If this info is needed, my PC was built by me and I'm fairly new at building them.
Specs;
CPU; Intel Pentium G3258
GPU; Sapphire Radeon R7 260x
PSU; XFX 550W ATX12V
Memory; 8g Ram
Motherboard; ASrock H81M-HDS Micro ATX LGA1150
Thanks in advance for anyone willing to help.

PS- REALLY BIG THING I FORGOT TO ADD! The Mic works fine on a laptop that I own. I tested it on skype with that laptop. No static at all. So I think it's definitely the computer and not my headset itself.

sparky8251

Reputable
Mar 23, 2014
Odd question but... Have you tried licking the plug on the headset, inserting it into a jack in your computer, pulling it out and wiping it off?

Back when I used a headset this would fix static issues for me every time. Granted I lived in a home with 8 pets so dust was everywhere but my point remains, maybe the ports a bit dusty and that's blocking the signal (it's analog so its not a work/doesn't work thing, it has 50 shades of working from crystal clear to not at all with all kinds of static in between).

George Mooey

Reputable
Nov 13, 2014