[SOLVED] Multiple BSODs a day with different error codes

Oct 28, 2020
7
0
10
0
Hey there,

I build a new PC in February this year and had nothing but problem with it ever since, sadly. I get a BSOD at least once per week, sometimes multiple per day. The Stop Codes are pretty random and can be pretty much everything. The BSODs happen most frequently when using Chrome (or Brave which is based on Chromium I guess), but also when using MS Teams. I usually don't have a Bluescreen when running a game, though I haven't tried a lot of different games. If it is any help, I quite frequently receive a "Status_Access_Violation"-Error when watching YouTube/Twitch or simply browsing website with something going on, I guess.

What I tried up until now:

  • Reinstalled Windows 10 (Home Edition) multiple times. It is an official copy on an official USB stick from the Microsoft store
  • Switched to different RAM three times (always two 8 GB RAM though)
  • Switched my GPU (AMD 5700 XT => RTX 2070 Super)
  • Switched my Motherboard (B450 => B450 Pro Gaming Wifi)
  • Switched out every external hardware that was connected to my PC (and freshly installed Windows afterwards). This includes headset, keyboard, mouse, monitores...
  • Ran Memtest86 for 24h, no faults
  • Ran FurMark for several hours, no dice (temperatures were fine as well, between 70-80 max)
  • Ran Prime95 for several hours, CPU didn't care.
  • Ran the Disc Repair stuff from Windows (DMCE oder something like that).
  • Ran sfc command
  • Updated BIOS in September
  • Updated every driver I could find
So by now, I'm not really sure what else to do. I ordered a new SSD. Other than that I can only think of PSU and CPU. Or maybe the tower? I really am at a loss. I will probably just buy my next PC :(.
Anyway, here are the most recent minidumps as a .rar: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1POwvMwo6J6zNUcSCqb57FCfaU0LwYwld/view?usp=sharing

My current PC specs are:
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 3600X
  • Motherboard: MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon Max WIFI So.AM4
  • RAM: 8GB (1x 8192MB) Crucial Ballistix Sport LT Single Rank DDR4-3200 DIMM CL16-18-18 Single
  • GPU: 8GB MSI GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER Gaming X Trio, GDDR6, HDMI, 3x DP (V372-257R)
  • PSU: 750 Watt be quiet! Straight Power 11 Modular 80+ Gold
  • SSD (only storage device connected atm): 960GB Crucial BX500 2.5" (6.4cm) SATA 6Gb/s 3D-NAND TLC (CT960BX500SSD1)
  • CPU cooler: EKL Ben Nevis Tower Kühler
  • Tower: be quiet! Pure Base 600 gedämmt Midi Tower ohne Netzteil schwarz
I don't overclock anything (I also disabled XMP).
At this point I would be thankful about any pointer and willing to try pretty much everything.
Any help is greatly appreciated!

Kind regards,
Terrashock

Edit: Updated links to minidump, I think the previous link was private.
 
Last edited:

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
i don't know ryzen well enough to know if each core has its own memory controller, I would think it would make more sense to have one for entire CPU

that does sound like its CPU at this point. That PSU might have hurt CPU as well. Although it could have been cause all along. As an owner of a 3600xt, i don't like to see them go bad :)
 

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
Hi, I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/w7q2y8eL/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:102820-9812-01.dmp (Oct 28 2020 - 10:44:24)
Bugcheck:REFERENCE_BY_POINTER (18)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: wfica32.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 16 Hour(s), 40 Min(s), and 04 Sec(s)

File information:102720-8890-01.dmp (Oct 27 2020 - 04:36:41)
Bugcheck:PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: chrome.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 32 Min(s), and 16 Sec(s)

File information:102720-8234-01.dmp (Oct 27 2020 - 08:00:57)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 3 Hour(s), 19 Min(s), and 58 Sec(s)

File information:102720-7031-01.dmp (Oct 27 2020 - 04:03:43)
Bugcheck:PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: ROCCAT_Swarm_Monitor.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 17 Hour(s), 03 Min(s), and 34 Sec(s)

File information:102720-12093-01.dmp (Oct 27 2020 - 18:03:41)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 7 Hour(s), 59 Min(s), and 09 Sec(s)
Possible Motherboard page: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450-GAMING-PRO-CARBON-MAX-WIFI
There is 1 BIOS update available for your system. Wait for additional information before deciding to update or not. Important: Verify that I have linked to the correct motherboard. Updating your BIOS can be risky. Never try it when you might lose power (lightning storms, recent power outages, etc).

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
i don't see Reference by pointer very often.

i was going to suggest you update your lan/wifi drivers but I see you have. On the 27th? as dump 1 & 3 have the newer drivers but dump 2 & 4 have older ones. blames Gardenman for not doing them in date order :)

are there any newer versions of the citrix program?

did you replace ram before or after swapping motherboards? Are you sure its on the support list here? https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B450-GAMING-PRO-CARBON-MAX-WIFI#support-mem-19
click compatibility on the left hand side
click memory by RX3000
 
Oct 28, 2020
7
0
10
0
i don't see Reference by pointer very often.

i was going to suggest you update your lan/wifi drivers but I see you have. On the 27th? as dump 1 & 3 have the newer drivers but dump 2 & 4 have older ones. blames Gardenman for not doing them in date order :)

are there any newer versions of the citrix program?

did you replace ram before or after swapping motherboards? Are you sure its on the support list here? https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B450-GAMING-PRO-CARBON-MAX-WIFI#support-mem-19
click compatibility on the left hand side
click memory by RX3000
Hey, thank you for your answer.

Yes, I updated the lan/wifi drivers in between crashes as I suspected them to be the cause. Turns out that's not the case.

I have the newest version of Citrix. Sadly I also need that program as it is used for my job to connect to a remote FAT client.

I replaced the RAM before AND after swapping motherboards (having three sets of RAM comes in handy). The current RAM serial is BLS8G4D32AESBK and I can find it on the list that you suggested, so it's probably supported.

I hope that helps

Edit: I also got a BSOD after uploading the files which - I think - was reference_by_pointer btw ;)
 
Last edited:

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Give us as many as you get, one of them might actually mention a driver name. Most of the time its a case of working out what was happening at time and figuring out what might be the cause.

Status_Access_Violation
that is a chrome error - https://support.google.com/chrome/thread/40260297?hl=en, possibly fixed with a update of chrome.

Other than that I can only think of PSU and CPU. Or maybe the tower?
Cases normally don't cause problems. You have swapped almost everything else.
Problem with Ryzen is the only real test is Prime95 and you have done that.
it appears we reviewed that PSU - https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/be-quiet-straight-power-11-650w-platinum-power-supply-review#:~:text=Our Verdict,the US market is stiff.
https://www.anandtech.com/show/13494/the-be-quiet-straight-power-11-750w-psu-review/5
its a good PSU but there are better for similar costs. It shouldn't be the cause but always possible.
 
Oct 28, 2020
7
0
10
0
Give us as many as you get, one of them might actually mention a driver name. Most of the time its a case of working out what was happening at time and figuring out what might be the cause.



that is a chrome error - https://support.google.com/chrome/thread/40260297?hl=en, possibly fixed with a update of chrome.



Cases normally don't cause problems. You have swapped almost everything else.
Problem with Ryzen is the only real test is Prime95 and you have done that.
it appears we reviewed that PSU - https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/be-quiet-straight-power-11-650w-platinum-power-supply-review#:~:text=Our Verdict,the US market is stiff.
https://www.anandtech.com/show/13494/the-be-quiet-straight-power-11-750w-psu-review/5
its a good PSU but there are better for similar costs. It shouldn't be the cause but always possible.
Here is the newest .dmp: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1y9bVoU0AAvSfItPz2mURfS6loZv1a065/view?usp=sharing

Had no BSOD today yet, so that makes me kinda happy. Which is also sad.

Concerning the Chrome Error: I had that issue since I built the PC but never before so I figured it might be connected. But maybe not. My MS Teams also crashes intermediatly. This only happens on my PC and never on the Teams running on my remote PC or my Laptop for work (yes, I have 3 instances of Teams open...).

From a probability standpoint, what is the most likely hardware to cause the issue now? SSD, CPU or PSU? As mentioned, I got a new SSD today and will probably switch to it as soon as I have time to make a clean install again. If the BSODs persist, is the CPU a more likely cause than the PSU? If I switch both of them I actually have a completely new PC again. Imagine if the error persists afterwards. I would be totally lost.

Kind regards,
Terrashock
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
do you use Wi-Fi or ethernet at home?
latest lan drivers here - search by windows 10 - https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/64403/Intel-Ethernet-Controller-I211-Series
wifi drivers are closer to new.
might not make a difference.

i think a PSU more likely than a CPU. I think if it was the CPU you would know about it. Prime 95 would have revealed it, as maybe would have memtest as the memory controller is on CPU. I wouldn't swap 2 things at same time as then you will never know which was the problem. You already have mostly a new PC now. Lets think about hardware if you get them on new ssd.

note: i got the thread mixed up with another I was fixing... oops
 
Last edited:
Oct 28, 2020
7
0
10
0
do you use Wi-Fi or ethernet at home?
latest lan drivers here - search by windows 10 - https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/64403/Intel-Ethernet-Controller-I211-Series
wifi drivers are closer to new.
might not make a difference.

i think a PSU more likely than a CPU. I think if it was the CPU you would know about it. Prime 95 would have revealed it, as maybe would have memtest as the memory controller is on CPU. I wouldn't swap 2 things at same time as then you will never know which was the problem. You already have mostly a new PC now. Lets think about hardware if you get them on new ssd.

note: i got the thread mixed up with another I was fixing... oops
I use ethernet exclusively. I got the latest drivers from the motherboard website for LAN drivers, I would kinda hope that this are the most recent?

PSU then. I have another PSU lieing around here, so I might as well try this out while switching the SSD. Only has 500W though, fingers crossed that this is enough.

Thank you for your replies as always. No blue screen today again. I really don't understand my PC.
 
Oct 28, 2020
7
0
10
0
Hey there,

Sorry to unearth my thread, but I had some time to do some more testing and part-switching:

I upgraded my PSU to a Darkpower 11 which is on the recommended list you provided. I accidentally must have made a mistake when connecting it though as I managed to immediately fry both my motherboard and my RAM with it. So I let a workshop replace all the parts. The changes were as following:
  • PSU: 750 Watt be quiet! Straight Power 11 Modular 80+ Gold -> 650 Watt be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 Modular 80+ Platinum
  • RAM: GB (1x 8192MB) Crucial Ballistix Sport LT Single Rank DDR4-3200 DIMM CL16-18-18 Single -> 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX schwarz DDR4-3000 DIMM CL16 Dual Kit
  • Motherboard: MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon Max WIFI So.AM4 -> MSI B550m PRO-VDH WIFI
My browser crashes much less frequently now, nevertheless I got a bluescreen twice in 3 weeks now. Most notably though pretty much all games I tried crash after a short amount of time with a c000005 error.

So I tried Prime95 again, this time not a blend but only the large FFTS stuff. And lo' and behold, worker 9 and 10 both crash almost immediatly every time I let it run. I switched the RAM to see if that is the problem but the same workers crash everytime. I also switched the version of Prime95, same results.

So, can I conclude that core 5 of my CPU is bad? (I think worker 9 and 10 correspond to the 5th core, but please correct me there, I'm not sure how virtual cores work)

Thanks for your replies as always,

Kind regrads,
Terrashock
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Ouch at PSU thing.

can you go to the prime 95 folder
find text file called stress.txt
upload that to a file sharing website and I see what it says.
are these rounding errors??

i am getting mixed results regarding if RMA of CPU is needed

Large FFT generates the most heat and power consumption, it could be either the cooling is insufficient (CPU/NB, or even the memory), and/or the voltage rails are fluctuating more under large FFT stress testing mode.

You could try increasing the CPU, memory, or the NB voltage up a notch.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?155050-Prime95-25-3-Small-Blend-24h-stable-but-not-LargeFFT-why

Did you clean install win 10 after getting an almost new PC?

AMD start their core count at 0, so threads 9 & 10 likely on Core4

based on what i see myself.
 
Last edited:
Oct 28, 2020
7
0
10
0
Heya,

Here are the result.txt: https://drive.google.com/file/d/11h6Nc8IbqVNYbJmZJCgDD_nKx6c13dE5/view?usp=sharing

Yes, these are rounding errors.

The CPU voltage looked pretty stable when I monitored it during the tests and I don't really know why I even have to meddle around with those settings. It's kinda aggravating that it doesn't just work when I don't even overclock or anything. But yeah, I might try different setups for voltage.

In the meantime I tried something myself: I disabled Core 1 and Core 5 via AMD Master. I ran Prime95 again and got no failures (the last runs in the result.txt). I'm also idling right now for 40+ mins in GW2, a game that crashed after 10-15 mins previously when idling in certain places. This kinda strengthens my suspicion that the memory controller of Core 5 is faulty. My previous BSODs and problems all pointed to a memory problem, so I think that would be consistent with this. What do you think?

Of course, disabling cores is just a workaround at the moment, but I might just upgrade to a 5600X at this point.

Oh and the PSU thing taught me one thing: That was the last time I try to build a PC myself. If I change my CPU, I let a workshop handle this :sweatsmile:.

Thanks for your reply!

Kind regards,
Terrashock
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
i don't know ryzen well enough to know if each core has its own memory controller, I would think it would make more sense to have one for entire CPU

that does sound like its CPU at this point. That PSU might have hurt CPU as well. Although it could have been cause all along. As an owner of a 3600xt, i don't like to see them go bad :)
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY