Dec 9, 2023
Hi folks,

I'm having a weird problem with my freshly built PC, which I'm trying to explain here as short as possible. First, my hardware:

MB: Asus Prime Z-790p
CPU: Intel Core I5 13600KF
GPU: Inno 3D RTX 4080 iChill
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32GB 6400mhz
PSU: beQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W
Cooling: Custom Loop

Before I continue, I need to mention that I've been building gaming PCs since an AMD Phenom II X6 1090t was considered high-end, so I have some sort of experience.

The problem with my latest system is, that it won't boot normally at the first attempt, meaning that the monitor remains black and I can't enter the BIOS or do anything else. Fans, lights and the pump come alive though. My guess is, that it fails POST for some reason.

But if I do a hard restart by pressing the power button and then power it on again, the system will boot just normally.
Note that all of this happens before I even installed any kind of OS, so the problem is not windows related.

I managed to install windows on my SSD and it runs just fine. All my hardware seems to work normally and I don't get any errors, but still I'm not able to boot the system normally.
It won't boot when doing a Windows-Restart, Shutdown or even exit the BIOS with F10. It also won't come back when I put it to 'sleep'.
I always have to kill everything by keeping the power button pressed and then power it on again.
Once that second attempt is done, I'm having a perfectly stable system without any obvious problems.

I already ran various benchmarks, including 3D-Mark, which all finished without issues. I monitored my hardware with CPU-Z, Core Temp and HWMonitor, without finding any suspecious values.
I've been working with this system for several days now. I tried only using one memory-module at a time in all available slots, without any change. All my connected devices, USB-hubs, cables, fans, SSDs, soundcard etc...are working fine, but as soon as I try to restart my PC, the screen will remain black.