Need Help with Budget Build (First one EVER)

ruskininja

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: Black Friday/Cyber Monday

Budget Range: (500-800 (not set in stone yet, most likely lower portion of budget)) After Rebates; After Shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, video/picture editing, watching movies, surfing the internet

Am I buying a monitor: Yes

Parts to Upgrade: Everything I guess, starting from scratch (don't even have case).

Do I need to buy OS: Yes (Most likely Windows 7, but might get Windows 8 (convince me it's worth it if it is))

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: amazon.com (but I'm not all too familiar with sites; suggestions appreciated)

Parts Preferences: AMD proccessor

Overclocking: Maybe (not sure what it is)

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe (again not sure)

My Monitor Resolution: I have not a clue...suggestions?

Additional Comments: I am brand new with building comps, I have never did anything except changing a fan and RAM in my past computer. I am definitely new to this type of build, but I've had not trouble with smaller devices like phones, consoles, and handheld consoles.

Why Am I Upgrading: I have a shared all-in-one pc that is crap at everything. I want a computer of my own that can handle most games (especially BF3, Skyrim, etc) on medium without a problem (but I'm not sure I can do that for my budget...so can you just give me some advice for the best bang for my buck). I also want to build a computer for the heck of it...I LOVE working with electronics, but I haven't had time to recently and I'd like to build a computer for the first time since I hope to be getting in to this after high school and college.

Advice would be taken EXTREMELY graciously

Thank you,

Alec

ckholt83

Honorable
Jun 27, 2012
Okay, here's what I came up with:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($179.99 @ Newegg)