Question Need help with first PC build. Thanks :)

FishHead0012

Prominent
Aug 1, 2022
Hi there,

I'm building my first PC for gaming and work purposes.

I currently have an ultrawide 1440p 120Hz monitor and would like to optimize it.

Should I go for AMD or Nvidia? Is liquid cooling better?

I'm not that experienced in the world of PC building, so I really appreciate any help.

My budget is around 2000 pounds.

If you have any questions, please ask.
Many thanks. :)

Reactions: Order 66
Honestly, when it comes to GPU selection it's personal preference and whatever you're going to be doing with it. AMD may be the cheaper route right now as nVidia's prices are still super inflated.

Liquid cooling is always an upgrade (unless you choose a really low-end setup) but it also isn't for everyone.

Eximo

Titan
Ambassador
Liquid cooling can help the boost clocks a little, but for typical gaming, no need. CPUs are fast enough and your resolution is high enough that most of the burden is on the GPU. It is more beneficial to pay for the next tier of graphics card then to liquid cool one, or pay the premium for pre-watercooled GPUs. Really best done on the highest end cards.

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: Intel Core i7-13700K 3.4 GHz 16-Core Processor (£376.99 @ Amazon UK)
CPU Cooler: Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE 66.17 CFM CPU Cooler (£38.90 @ Amazon UK)
Motherboard: MSI PRO Z790-S WIFI ATX LGA1700 Motherboard (£204.97 @ Ebuyer)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR5-6000 CL36 Memory (£89.99 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Crucial P5 Plus 2 TB M.2-2280 PCIe 4.0 X4 NVME Solid State Drive (£103.99 @ Amazon UK)
Video Card: MSI VENTUS 3X E OC GeForce RTX 4070 Ti 12 GB Video Card (£769.99 @ Amazon UK)
Case: Deepcool MATREXX 55 MESH ATX Mid Tower Case (£42.98 @ Scan.co.uk)
Power Supply: Corsair RM850x (2021) 850 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply (£129.99 @ Amazon UK)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 11 Home Retail - Download 64-bit (£108.42 @ Ebuyer)