Needing help with a build for 1440p 144hz gaming.

Jun 28, 2018
I am creating a gaming pc. I have a few questions on which ram I should pick and if my power supply is adequate. I'm also a little stumped on what case fans to get as the ones in my case would not stand a chance cooling this beast of a thing. I'm not looking for the best of the best parts but am looking for a solid option for 1440p 144hz gaming. I already have a case and other necessities but here is the build..
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/4GTK7W

Hopefully someone who has more experience with all of the gaming tech could help me out. I'm pretty new to this whole gaming pc thing.

Thank you for your time!

Edit: I also was wondering if 165hz gaming would be worth more money and less FPS or is 165 unnoticeable between that and 144..? Thanks again!

Solution
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/VKtZQZ

Ive changed it a bit for you, instead of the 7700k, I gave you an i7 8700k, which is a 6 core and it is a good bit more powerful than the 7700k and I've changed the gtx 1080 for a 1080ti, so again a good bit more performance there, especially for that 144hz mark you want to hit.
Ive also changed the motherboard since an i7 8700k needs a z370 chipset for overclocking, the one one chose is a bit cheaper than the one you had, the money saved on the motherboard allows you to get a 1080ti instead of a normal 1080 :)

Its a bit more expensive but much stronger than the setup you previously had. but for 75$ more you get a 6 core cpu instead of 4 core and a 1080ti instead of 1080 so it's a good deal. :)
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/VKtZQZ

Ive changed it a bit for you, instead of the 7700k, I gave you an i7 8700k, which is a 6 core and it is a good bit more powerful than the 7700k and I've changed the gtx 1080 for a 1080ti, so again a good bit more performance there, especially for that 144hz mark you want to hit.