Question New Build Opinion (RTX 4090)

Tomas1020

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2015
Hi all,

it's been a while since I posted here because I've been sitting happily on my current setup for past 6 years (I think?):
  • GTX 1080 Ti OC @ around 2000 MHz
  • i7-8700K OC @ 4.9 GHz (with Corsair H115i AIO water cooling)
  • G.Skill 2x8 GB DDR4 3200 MHz
  • AsRock Z370 Extreme4
  • Seasonic Prime Gold 750W
  • 32" LG 4K monitor
My usage of this particular PC has always been 4K gaming, specialty being Flight Simulators (P3D and then MSFS), but also other games. It's been great up until last year, when I noticed that the PC simply couldn't handle new games at 4K anymore (MSFS at 4K with heavy DLC scenery suffering at 10-15 FPS). So I had to dial some graphics settings down quite drastically, even downscale the resolution.

Therefore I finally decided to build a brand new PC. My requirements:
  • High-end 4K system that will last again for at least 5-6 years without any issues
  • Doesn't need to be the top items on the market (which I think are sometimes very overpriced), but still high-end
  • Considering a custom water cooling loop from EKWB because I've had some thermal issues with my current build, plus it simply looks amazing :)
  • I enjoy some intermediate level overclocking of both CPU and GPU
  • The timeline is quite flexible, I think I will make the purchase maybe around December 2023 - Yes, I know that there will probably be new components by then, but I want to already assess some baseline from which I will move forward...
This is what I currently came up with:
  • GIGABYTE RTX 4090 GAMING OC
    • WHY? Because it's a gaming PC and I don't wanna be doing any compromises here, especially in 4K. The ASUS ROG STRIX seems to perform a little better, but no way I can justify the price difference.
  • Intel i7-13700K