New build PC freezes for about 10 seconds and then resumes but sound stops playing

Oct 17, 2018
Hello all,

I am relatively new to PC's and builds however I decided to build my own PC before starting university in September just gone. Specs are:

Motherboard - MSI Z370 Gaming pro carbon
RAM - 2x8gb Gskill F4-3200C16D
GPU - MSI GTX 1070 8GB Armor OC Ed
Processor - i7 8700K
PSU - Seasonic 750W (SSR-750FX)

I've got 2 240GB kingston SSD's raided and a 1tb normal HDD.

The issue has been from the start, annoyingly. It doesn't seem to matter what I'm doing on the PC, it's happened whilst i've been playing a game (The Forest), just been scrolling through facebook and listening to music, whilst watching a tv show. It doesn't seem to relate to what I'm doing.

The issue is my PC freezes for about 10-15 seconds and then resumes but sound stops playing through my speakers afterwards. If I'm listening to music at the time it continues to play whilst frozen but almost in slow motion and robot like and then as it comes out of the freeze the music stops and I have to restart my PC to get sound back (however if i switch to my monitor speakers they still work). Also, when it freezes, I'm not sure what component it would be but something (or the entire PC) sounds like it's working really hard. It whirls up and for the entirety of the freeze but then drops back to normal afterwards.

Things I've tried:
- Due to the sound turning off I tried disabling all sound through the BIOS and device manager but it still froze.
- I stress tested my memory and CPU for 20 hours using Prime95 and it came back with no issues.
- I've run a GPU stress test for 20 minutes and it came back with no issues.
- I've tried updating drivers for everything and it still persists.
- Just last night I tried resetting my PC through windows 10 and then reinstalling drivers and it's just froze on me again.