[SOLVED] New PC build powers on, but no display and usb ports don't work

Sep 26, 2020
I'm a new PC builder and I just finished putting everything together so I went to turn it on and it powered on fine. The only problem is that the display is not showing on the monitor and the USB ports/IO ports aren't working.

I've tried starting up the system with just one of the RAM inserted, I have unplugged everything and replugged it all back in, I've read the motherboard manual so many times and everything seems to be correct, I tried using different HDMI, display, and VGA ports both on the motherboard and the GPU, and I still can't figure out what's going on. Can someone please help me I'm new at all this?

Specs:
CPU AMD Ryzen 5 2600 6-Core
GPU MSI Gaming GeForce GTX 1660 Super
RAM Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 X 8GB) DDR4 3200MHz
SSD Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
PSU Thermaltake Smart RGB 500W
MOBO ASRock B450 Gaming K4
CASE Phanteks Eclipse p350

Solution
So it looks like everything is plugged in correctly from what I can tell.

Here are some other things to try:
  1. Take one of the DIMMs out. First take out the B2 lane RAM stick. Try to boot with one. Next, replace the one in A2 with the one you previously took out, and try to boot with the second stick. Let's confirm the RAM is not problematic.
  2. Move the GFX card from its primary lane to the other lane that it will fit in. And see if it happens to boot from there. Not likely if its brand new for there to be a dead lane, but worth a try.
The fact that the motherboard's on-board usb's don't work/provide power is worrying to me. Both of my PC's, I can charge from a USB port as long as the PSU switch is on, and power is coming...

tsibiski

Reputable
Jun 23, 2019