[SOLVED] New PC build, sometimes I have video

Virgil2U

Reputable
Jul 14, 2017
I just finished building a system. I have been building and working on computers since 1995, but this is the first time I have installed an Intel Manufactured motherboard. I do understand how different makes are way different so I am not totally sure if I have it connected properly. I did double and triple-check all connections by the manual. I first had a PCIe video card installed in it but I could get no video from it, not even bios. I removed it and then I cleared the CMOS and tried it again using only the onboard HDMI and again no video. I then started playing with the power button on the power supply turning it off and then on. I then within a few minutes finally got a BIOS screen. I was only able to get this twice by playing with the power button on the power supply. The system does start-up and the CPU fan does run so I know the motherboard is powered on. Also on this build, I did not use any standoffs as previously when I did the board sat so high up that the board would not line up properly into the I/O plate. Should I use the standoffs anyway and discard the I/O plate if the board does not line up for it? Any help anyone can give this old man would be greatly appreciated. Here are the specs for the system

Board: Intel DH87MC
Memory: 4 X 8 DDR3

Solution
Absolutley put that board up on headers, OR try it out of the case on a peice of cardboard. It probably is shorting out somewhere. I wouldn't recommend running a motherboard with no headers it could cause WAY worse things to happen. The header points are safe to be on metal. I would try that first and check it out. They do sell packs of headers on newegg if you need some. Let us know.
Oct 7, 2021