Question New PC Build

Jun 21, 2023
Hello! Thanks for stopping by my thread. I am new to the TH community, but have come across the site in many searches so I have the upmost confidence that there is some expertise amongst you all here on the forums.

I have fond memories of building PC's alongside my friends and family. It is always a special process for me as for my first home build, my late cousin helped show me the ropes and guide me through everything from start to finish. I built my last PC back in 2012 largely because I wanted something a little more start of the art to play Skyrim on. With yet another major Bethesda Game Studios release (Starfield) on the horizon and that old rig starting to finally reach the end of its lifespan, it's time for my next build. Having the ability to work remote is also largely dependent upon having an operational desktop, so there is also some necessity behind things in that department.

Today (06/21/23) I've gone ahead and purchased a good majority of my components. I was planning for a build in the range of $2,500 and I think I'll probably end up coming in at a little over $3,000 which is alright by me.

In addition to gaming and remote work (I will occasionally remote into my work computer but largely work directly off my home device) I'll also be planning to use this to stream movies and TV on occasion. Many modern builds don't have an ODD of course, but given my penchant for collecting CD's at garage sales to add to an ever-expanding digital music library, I'm including one on this PC. Call me old school but I'm just not at the point where I'd like a desktop without a disk drive.

As I've made the plunge and bought a GeForce 4080, the idea is that this will be a build that is strong operating at a 4K resolution and has overall state-of-the-art (or near to it) graphical capabilities for something of this budget.

I've purchased through Newegg Windows 11 Home as based upon what I've read that should suit my needs.