Question New PC, self built, lights on mobo, wont power on. Thoughts?

Feb 5, 2022
Hello all, new to the forum so hopefully posting in the right spot. I built my own PC earlier last week but having a weird problem (I've built a few PCs before that worked fine, so not a complete newbie to this).

Specs:
EVGA 1000watt PSU (new)
ASUS X570 E Gaming Mobo
32 GB Compatible G Skill Trident RAM (checked mobo manual for the serial # etc.)
Ryzen 9 5900x
EVGA Liquid cooler, installed the AM4 pins.
Samsung 980 PRO M2 and 970 M2 (mobo has 2 M2 slots).
GPU - going to be a 3090 RTX but was just testing initially with a 970 GTX (seems to not be the culprit though per below)

I built the system with the above components, made sure to use the standoffs and line them up. Processor went in nice and easy, no forcing it. Before I closed up the case and put any video card in I wanted to try booting to make sure fans came on the and the mobo booted. I flipped the power switch on the PSU and saw the mobo RGB lights come on and if I unplug the 8 pin CPU connector the red light comes on, so I know the mobo has power.

Initially, I tried booting it by pressing the power button on the case and nothing. I tried jump starting the mobo (to eliminate a wiring issue with the case) and nothing. Checked all cables and everything was fine. So I tried reseating the CMOS battery, pressed the power button on the case, and wa-laa! Computer booted, all fans spinning, mobo showing read out codes which is fine given everything is not hooked up. Okay I thought, I've had the CMOS battery be an issue before.