new to upgrading help please

G

Hi, I am completely new to upgrading and find that, whilst I read a lot, I cannot understand all the stuff at once - e.g. I have a 200 mhz CPU which I am replacing with a K6-2 550. I plug it in and it just beeps. Can anyone point me in the very very basic direction of what I need to do. It would be very helpful if someone just had say a list of notes with simple instructions - like 'plug this in'; 'go to the manufacturers web site' ; 'adjust voltage down' etc etc and also a note ( suggestion of a book ) where I can get detailed info on how to do this.
I really really want to get into this, but an very confused by lots of pieces of information and cannot really tie it all together nor understand how, practically, to put it into practice.
I really appreciate your patience with this true beginner.

Thanks.

scwarner

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2002
what mainboard are you using? As far as I know all socket 7 boards require jumpers to be set for new chips.
Also, older boards don't suport faster cpu's. Yow will need to go to manufacturer's website and check out what the capabilities of your board are.(FSB,multiplier,voltage settings) and possibly download a users manual or check into a compatability guide for chips and mobos on thier site.
Good luck.

"Intel people buy their computers to learn. AMD people build theirs because they already have."

G

Thanks for replying. Now this is going to sound silly - but I dont really know what the motherboard is. I can see no names on it. However, if this helps, it is gold in colour, has two big letters ( 1 cm high ) saying CE and a 'number' of GA-586HX Rev 1.55. Does this mean anything to you ? If so, do you know the web address of the manufacturer ?
I appreciate your help - sorry if I am being a bit dumb.
Ta.

scwarner

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2002
The GA- means it is a Giga-Byte board.
The bad news is that it can't support faster processors.