Ninjutsu Question

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hi!

I have a question about the Ninjutsu ability. Let's say my Ninja deals
combat damage to my opponent. While the damage is on stack, I put
another Ninja into play using its ability and switching it with the one
that dealt damage. Does the returned-to-hand-Ninja ability trigger, or
my opp just gets damage without any additional effects?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Mon, 7 Feb 2005, Piotr Lopaciuk wrote:

> Hi!
>
> I have a question about the Ninjutsu ability. Let's say my Ninja deals combat
> damage to my opponent. While the damage is on stack, I put another Ninja into
> play using its ability and switching it with the one that dealt damage. Does
> the returned-to-hand-Ninja ability trigger,

To trigger, the permanent with the triggered ability has to be in
play. The trigger isn't built into the damage or something.

> or my opp just gets damage without any additional effects?

Yes.

--
David
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Mon, 07 Feb 2005 03:13:18 +0100, Piotr Lopaciuk <piolop@o2.pl> wrote:
>I have a question about the Ninjutsu ability. Let's say my Ninja deals
>combat damage to my opponent. While the damage is on stack, I put
>another Ninja into play using its ability and switching it with the one
>that dealt damage. Does the returned-to-hand-Ninja ability trigger, or
>my opp just gets damage without any additional effects?

The latter, in this case.

The Ninja that assigned the damage, which will later get dealt, will not be
in play at the time the combat damage gets dealt, so _its_ triggered ability
won't be able to trigger. A Ninja has to be in play at the time combat damage
is dealt for its "Whenever ~ deals combat damage to an opponent, ..." ability
to trigger.

The new Ninja is not the one that assigned the damage; the combat damage does
know where it's from - what its "source" is - and the new Ninja isn't it, even
if it has the same name as the other one. The new Ninja isn't dealing any
combat damage to opponent, so _its_ ability won't trigger either.

End result: opponent gets damaged; no Ninja ability triggers. Thus this
probably isn't too smart a move. If you want the new Ninja instead of the old
one? Then swap them -after combat damage has resolved- - either during the
remainder of combat-damage step, or during end-of-combat step. The old Ninja
is still an unblocked attacker during those periods of time, as long as
nothing ELSE kills it...

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.