Not sure what hardware to get.

bigschank

Honorable
Aug 26, 2012
I have my main computer with Cable Modem and D-Link Wireless Router on one end of my house. Because the router is on one side of the house, the bedrooms get no signal. I am new to networking and from what I understand, I need to set up a wireless access point somewhere in the middle of the house.

From reading this article, I can still use my D-Link router as an access point (http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/36406-43-convert-wireless-router-wireless-access-point). However I am not sure if I get another wireless router, wired router, or a switch to hook the access point (D-Link) into.

Solution
What that article is describing is how to take a second wireless router and reconfigure it so it's ONLY a wireless AP (it no longer does any routing). Of course, you could instead buy a standalone wireless AP (it would have a single LAN port that you could connect to a LAN port on your wireless router), but many ppl choose to use a wireless router and simply reconfigure it for these purposes, if only to save money (they may already have an older, otherwise unused wireless router sitting in their closet!).

[wireless router #1](lan)<-- wire -->(lan)[wireless router #2 - ap mode]
What that article is describing is how to take a second wireless router and reconfigure it so it's ONLY a wireless AP (it no longer does any routing). Of course, you could instead buy a standalone wireless AP (it would have a single LAN port that you could connect to a LAN port on your wireless router), but many ppl choose to use a wireless router and simply reconfigure it for these purposes, if only to save money (they may already have an older, otherwise unused wireless router sitting in their closet!).

[wireless router #1](lan)<-- wire -->(lan)[wireless router #2 - ap mode]

Solution

bigschank

Honorable
Aug 26, 2012
I will use your "[wireless router #1](lan)<-- wire -->(lan)[wireless router #2 - ap mode]" if you dont mind.