Orochi Eggwatcher, Snake Pit and flipping

Dave

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2003
2,727
0
20,780
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hi all,

I've got Snake Pit and Orochi Eggwatcher in play along with 8 snake
tokens. My opponent plays a black spell, and (eventually) I get a
ninth snake token, which now give me ten total creatures in play.

Do I have to tap the Orochi Eggwatcher to allow it to flip, or does
it automatically flip? I thought I had to tap it, but one of the
other players said it should flip without me having to activate the
Eggwatcher's ability. Which is correct?

Snake Pit
3G
Enchantment
Whenever an opponent plays a blue or black spell, you may put a 1/1
green Snake creature token into play.

Orochi Eggwatcher
2G
Creature - Snake Shaman
1/1
2G, T: Put a 1/1 green Snake creature token into play. If you control
ten or more creatures, flip Orochi Eggwatcher.
-----
Shidako, Broodmistress
Legendary Creature - Snake Shaman
3/3
G, Sacrifice a creature: Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn.

Thanks!

- Dave
Magic: The Gathering card singles
http://www.destinationmtg.com
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

In news:cb2dndLQYJV1Ep7fRVn-2Q@giganews.com,
Dave <im@not.telling> rambled:
> Hi all,
>
> I've got Snake Pit and Orochi Eggwatcher in play along with 8 snake
> tokens. My opponent plays a black spell, and (eventually) I get a
> ninth snake token, which now give me ten total creatures in play.
>
> Do I have to tap the Orochi Eggwatcher to allow it to flip, or does
> it automatically flip? I thought I had to tap it, but one of the
> other players said it should flip without me having to activate the
> Eggwatcher's ability. Which is correct?
>
> Snake Pit
> 3G
> Enchantment
> Whenever an opponent plays a blue or black spell, you may put a 1/1
> green Snake creature token into play.
>
> Orochi Eggwatcher
> 2G
> Creature - Snake Shaman
> 1/1
> 2G, T: Put a 1/1 green Snake creature token into play. If you control
> ten or more creatures, flip Orochi Eggwatcher.
> -----
> Shidako, Broodmistress
> Legendary Creature - Snake Shaman
> 3/3
> G, Sacrifice a creature: Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn.

You will have to use the activated ability of the Eggwatcher in order for it
to flip. The flipping action is part of the resolution of the activated
ability. IIRC, this is true of all the Champions of Kamigawa flip creatures,
but not the Betrayers flip creatures. The Betrayers of Kamigawa flip
creatures can be flipped as part of the resolution of a triggered ability
("...when ~ has X or more ki counters...").

--

KB

Briscobar AT gmail DOT com
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Dave <im@not.telling> sent:
> Hi all,

> I've got Snake Pit and Orochi Eggwatcher in play along with 8 snake
> tokens. My opponent plays a black spell, and (eventually) I get a
> ninth snake token, which now give me ten total creatures in play.

> Do I have to tap the Orochi Eggwatcher to allow it to flip, or does
> it automatically flip? I thought I had to tap it, but one of the
> other players said it should flip without me having to activate the
> Eggwatcher's ability. Which is correct?

You have to activate the ability, as the effect that causes it to
flip is a part of that ability. You can tell that it's all one
thing because it's all on one line. If it were in a separate
paragraph, then it'd be a separate ability.

--
-- zoe
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Zoe Stephenson" <zrs1@uk.ac.york.reversed> wrote in message
news:cu03qj$337$1@pump1.york.ac.uk...
> Dave <im@not.telling> sent:
>> Hi all,
>
>> I've got Snake Pit and Orochi Eggwatcher in play along with 8 snake
>> tokens. My opponent plays a black spell, and (eventually) I get a
>> ninth snake token, which now give me ten total creatures in play.
>
>> Do I have to tap the Orochi Eggwatcher to allow it to flip, or does
>> it automatically flip? I thought I had to tap it, but one of the
>> other players said it should flip without me having to activate the
>> Eggwatcher's ability. Which is correct?
>
> You have to activate the ability, as the effect that causes it to
> flip is a part of that ability. You can tell that it's all one
> thing because it's all on one line. If it were in a separate
> paragraph, then it'd be a separate ability.

That's what I thought (it all being on the same line, so it's all a
single ability). My buddy said he thought they only did that because
of space considerations, which would obviously be confusing if that
were true, but I didn't feel like arguing, and wasn't 100% sure
myself.

Thanks everyone!

- Dave
Magic: The Gathering card singles
http://www.destinationmtg.com
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 4 Feb 2005 09:08:31 -0600, Dave <im@not.telling> wrote:
>I've got Snake Pit and Orochi Eggwatcher in play along with 8 snake
>tokens. My opponent plays a black spell, and (eventually) I get a
>ninth snake token, which now give me ten total creatures in play.
>
>Do I have to tap the Orochi Eggwatcher to allow it to flip, or does
>it automatically flip? I thought I had to tap it, but one of the
>other players said it should flip without me having to activate the
>Eggwatcher's ability. Which is correct?

You are correct; the other player is not. The flipping is part of the
Eggwatcher's activated ability's -effect-; it is not a separate ability of any
sort. (In particular, it is not a TRIGGERED ability; the words "when",
"whenever", and "at" do not appear at all on either side of that card.)

>Orochi Eggwatcher >2G >Creature - Snake Shaman
>1/1 2G, T: Put a 1/1 green Snake creature token into play. If you control
>ten or more creatures, flip Orochi Eggwatcher.
>-----
>Shidako, Broodmistress >Legendary Creature - Snake Shaman
>3/3 G, Sacrifice a creature: Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn.

The Eggwatcher can't flip except as part of its activated ability resolving;
thus you do have to use the ability to get it to flip. It won't "flip suddenly
on its own".)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Dave sez:

<<
>I've got Snake Pit and Orochi Eggwatcher in play along with 8 snake
>tokens. My opponent plays a black spell, and (eventually) I get a
>ninth snake token, which now give me ten total creatures in play.
>
>Do I have to tap the Orochi Eggwatcher to allow it to flip, or does
it automatically flip?
>
>>

You have to create a snake by the Eggwatcher, as flipping is part of the
ability to create the snake.


----
Farewell to the undefeated, undisputed king of late night...
RIP Johnny Carson (1925-2005)
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Briscobar sez:

<<
>The Betrayers of Kamigawa flip
>creatures can be flipped as part of the resolution of a triggered ability
>("...when ~ has X or more ki counters...").
>
>>

....actually, it's "At end of turn, if ~ has X or more ki counters, you may flip
it." A conditional, optional trigger.


----
Farewell to the undefeated, undisputed king of late night...
RIP Johnny Carson (1925-2005)