[SOLVED] Overclocked my i9 9900K to 5.1ghz with 1.325v, is that OK? Did I do it right?

Albert Wesker

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2012
Hello there. I am no expert, so kindly enlighten me. :D

So I overclocked my i9 9900k to 5.1ghz with 1.325v using a Kraken X62. 0 AVX target. It's stable.

Passed Cinebench R15 multiple times in different occasions. Passed Prime95. No issues during games.

Max temps when using Cinebench were 72-75, 85 on Prime95, and 50 when gaming (depends on the game, most of the time it stays between 35-40)

Voltage drops to 1.279v under load. LLC: level 7

My motherboard (Asus ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390) shows 1.314v in the bios. It does fluctuate between 1.314v and 1.323v on CPU-Z.

So is that all OK? Because when I looked for other i9ners who OCed their CPU to 5.1ghz, most of them had a much higher voltage like 1.38, 1.4... Do I need that???

Temps seem OK to me and speed frequency stays 5.1ghz at all times (it drops to 5.08, 5.09, but I guess that's normal).

Oh and RAM is OCed at 3600mhz C15 using 1.35v, 1.050v VCCIO and 1.050v CPU system agent voltage.

Thanks.

Solution
Yes, your actual core voltage will change under a load. That's knows as vdroop. Changing the LLC (Load line calibration) setting to a higher, or lower, depending on the board and which direction numerically they've chosen to be an INCREASE in LLC, will help to alleviate vdroop, but you have to be careful because while increasing LLC will help with stability issues without having to increase the core voltage (Vcore, and several other names depending on the platform and generation) it will also FOR SURE increase thermal response as well.

A CPU with a 1.35v core voltage and and LLC of 3 (Assuming 1 is lowest and 10 is highest, although some boards don't have numerical schemes and instead have something like standard, high, extreme, etc.)...