[SOLVED] overclocking 10850k

Jul 12, 2020
i have a intel 10850k with a asus tuf z490 plus motherboard i have used the intel extreme tuning utility and was able to get 5.3 ghz stable on all cores. is there a difference in overclocking using the intel software compared to doing it in the bios btw im new to overclocking

Solution
Yes, there is a WORLD of difference, not least of which is the fact that ALL automatic overclocking utilities tend to err towards the side of stability and will usually use significantly more core voltage than what is necessary to achieve a stable configuration at any given clock frequency.

If you ask any veteran overclocker, technician or systems builder they will pretty much all tell you the same thing, and that is that it is not recommended to use these utilities, regardless of the utility, for overclocking. If you are going to overclock it is significantly wiser to do so from within the BIOS, as you will have far better control of what happens in terms of applied core voltage, voltage fluctuation (usually known as LLC, or Load line...
Yes, there is a WORLD of difference, not least of which is the fact that ALL automatic overclocking utilities tend to err towards the side of stability and will usually use significantly more core voltage than what is necessary to achieve a stable configuration at any given clock frequency.

If you ask any veteran overclocker, technician or systems builder they will pretty much all tell you the same thing, and that is that it is not recommended to use these utilities, regardless of the utility, for overclocking. If you are going to overclock it is significantly wiser to do so from within the BIOS, as you will have far better control of what happens in terms of applied core voltage, voltage fluctuation (usually known as LLC, or Load line calibration), and other relevant voltages like the system agent voltage, the cache or ring clock ratios, and so on.