Question Overclocking guidance needed: GA-X58A-UD3R+i7 920

Sep 2, 2021
Hello Experts,

This is my first post: I'm new to overclocking and just done one with below configuration but need guidance on stability

Board: Gigabyte X58A UD3R revision 1 & 8 Gig DDR3 Memory
CPU i7 920 2.8 GHz is raised to 4.01 GHz (21 x 191) with
Vcore 1.4v,
Memory 1.66 v

Then i'm running Prime 95 torture test in blend mode with 8 threads for last 12 Hrs and all 4 CPU core temp is around 58-68 degree C using HWMonitorSMC2.

Reading all forums apparently it looks good to me but can someone please confirm if this overclocking can be considered as absolutely stable or may be i'm missing something.

Any help and guidance is appreciated. Thanks.

Lutfij

Titan
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

Reading through these;
https://www.overclock.net/threads/g...h35tCCYJ2Ys-1630597470-0-gqNtZGzNA1CjcnBszQnl
I think you're in the clear. Regarding stability testing, you're going to have to leave the tests run overnight. The longer the better. You can also try and fire up daily tasks to see if your overclock is producing merely heat or if your platform is better than it was for day to day tasks(for you at least, not us).

though which stepping do you have? What cooler are you working with? No overclocks on the memory? BIOS version for your motherboard?

Reactions: ppal79
Sep 2, 2021
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

Reading through these;
https://www.overclock.net/threads/g...h35tCCYJ2Ys-1630597470-0-gqNtZGzNA1CjcnBszQnl
I think you're in the clear. Regarding stability testing, you're going to have to leave the tests run overnight. The longer the better. You can also try and fire up daily tasks to see if your overclock is producing merely heat or if your platform is better than it was for day to day tasks(for you at least, not us).

though which stepping do you have? What cooler are you working with? No overclocks on the memory? BIOS version for your motherboard?