OVERCLOCKING i5 4690k (help)

weeman8888

Reputable
May 27, 2014
hey guys
just like what the title said i am looking to overclock my cpu i have a msi gaming 3 h97 mbo, i have never done this before so steps or links to other webpages would be very helpful. i was looking to get the corsair h75 liquid cooled cooler. im not to sure what i should overclock it to but i have been reading to not overclock it past 4,5 and keep the volts to 1.3 i think.

quick edit:i looked up my mbo and that is cant overclock very well :( should i just not do it?
anyways i need some help.
thanks

Solution
The H97 is not made for OCing and you can't change the multiplier. You could get an ever sol slight OC via the BCLK, but it's not even worth the effort. Get a decent Z97 if you want to think OCing, something like the Asus Z97-A
Don't mess with voltage when first overclocking. First start with upping the multiplier one tick at a time (39x, 40x, 41x, etc. using a 100 BCLK, or front side bus, setting) until you get a crash during a stress test. That way you will know your base line (control) for starting to play with voltage. You can try playing around with different multiplier and BCLK combinations (like 43x multiplier and 102 BCLK yields 4.4GHz just as a 44x multiplier and 100 BCLK yields 4.4GHz).

The typical overclock to 4.5GHz uses between 1.15-1.20 volts (depends on a lot of factors like your cooling and how good a chip you have). Keep in mind you will not see these results with the stock Intel cooler, and the better the cooler you have, air or water, the better your results will be.

weeman8888

Reputable
May 27, 2014

should i even try since my mbo is apparently not good for overclocking. if so is there i way i can get around this or should i get a cheaper cpu cooler?