Overclocking my Ryzen rig?

Sep 11, 2018
Hi, I was considering overclocking my CPU as it supports it but I am still very new to the whole thing and I'm not sure if I have the right components or not and im not even sure where to begin

here's my components' list:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1400 (With stock cooler)
RAM: a single 8 GB ram stick (its speed is 2133 MHz probably, not too certain)
MOBO: ASUS Prime b350m-A
GFX Card: AMD RX 560 4gb
HDD: 1 TB
PSU: Zalman ZM500-GV

Ryzen 5 1400, being 4 cores, is a good chip to overclock since it won't load even a weak VRM too much. But the stock wraith cooler on it is not gonna do for pushing it. You might look to getting something better, like a Hyper 212 (very economical for the performance) at least.

The prime b350 m-a's worse problem is it doesn't have heatsinking on the VCore FET's but seeing as you have a 4 core 1400 it shouldn't matter too much. I've seen guys pumping an 8 core 1700 at 4 Gig on prime's (but it was to prove a point that just cause you can doesn't mean you should.) Even so, if you should get to a high overclock comfortably you should look at putting something on the FET's, maybe a fan to cool them.

Also: what ram do you have? it may be good for more than 2133 so definitely give that a go. Even low-speed stuff might get to 2600 and that's better than 2133. If you determine you need 16 Gig don't fall in the trap of buying another single stick of 8 though: that rarely works out well as you need to get two sticks as a matched kit in DDR4.

Sep 11, 2018

I just checked what's my RAM speed and its 2400 MHz, not too bad I think. Maybe I should get 4 x 4 GB of 2667 MHz ones?

And what kind of cooling solution I could use for my MoBo FET? Like just an ordinary 120/140mm fan? (I already have two of them)

Do you reckon that Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML120L would be a good cooling option?

Cheers! ^_^